Cookies Galore!

Kelly preps the dough

Today was cookie day over at our house.  We’ve been planning it all week.  The girls made sure to have all of their homework done by Saturday so that we could enjoy the entire day in the kitchen.  Okay….I spent the entire day, they spent half the day, but we still had a lot of fun and a lot of laughs making cookies, decorating them and making pretzel treats.  What are pretzel treats?  Well, a friend of mine brought me some of these to school last week and I absolutely loved them and had to make some of my own.  I have since named them, Pretzel Kisses.  They are preztels with a chocolate kiss in the middle and then an M&M on top of that!  Sweet & salty…the best kind of snack you can have.  They are very easy to make but the prep for it was a little much.  I had to unwrapped an entire bag of chocolate kisses & set them on top of the pretzels.  Then you bake them for a short time to make the chocolate soft, but not melt.  Then I discovered I needed help putting the M&M’s on before the chocolate hardened again, so Kelly & her friend, Kirstyn, were eager to help.

I didn't expect to make this many!

Mrs. Claus needed help!

We also made sugar cookies and gingerbread men.  The girls wanted to frost the gingerbread guys this year, so we added some green frosting into our mix of red hots and sprinkles.  We ran out of green sprinkles early on, so I had to pull out the halloween sprinkles of orange & brown.  They didn’t seem to mind and it makes for festive cookies.  Who needs just red & green?

By the end of the night, we were all feeling pretty full of sweets.  I think we’ve had our fill of chocolate as well.  I wish I had a few more days to make cookies and do these fun holiday traditions but for now, I’ll have to settle for these yummy treats and hope to do more next year.

Colorful gingerbread cookies

One comment

  1. Mmmmm! Those pretzel kisses sound great! The gingerbread cookies are very cute (and very tasty I’m sure). Gotta’ love holiday cookies! Wish I was there to sample them. heh heh.

Leave a Reply

