It’s Me!

A couple of weeks ago at work, we had a small celebration in our department.  It was Para-Professional Week and all of us EA’s (Educational Assistants) were recognized for our hard work and those wonderful smiles we put on our faces, each an everyday when we come to work.

The lead teachers had some of the kids draw portraits of the EA’s that work with them.   I had my portrait done by my friend, Justin, who is a 6th grader.  Justin has been in our program since 2nd grade and has come along way since then.  He used to hate coming to school, would run out his class, hide under tables and desks, and at times, could be very destructive when he got angry.  He now is able to stay in class, enjoys coming to school (as much as any 6th grader does) and has even made some friends within his classroom.  I start my day out every morning with Justin and he and I work on Social Studies, Science, Geography or Health.  I take most of the notes, while he draws dinosaurs or some other creepy creature.  I allow him to draw, because he needs to be doing something, rather than just sitting and he listens quite well while he draws.  I test him all the time on this.  I’ll say, “Are you listening to this?” and he’ll say, “yes.”  So I’ll ask a related question and he gets it right every time.  He knows if he isn’t listening or gets distracted by his drawing, I get to take it away.  He doesn’t like that very much.  We have built a good understanding between us and it seems to be working well.

I’m glad that I get to work with Justin this year because he is also in Kelly’s class, so I get to see her every day during that class period.  We’ve had fun and I can really keep up with her homework this way too.  ha~

So here’s the picture of me that Justin drew.  What do you think?!  I’m a little bit orange, but my co-workers tell me that’s my “glow”.  I think I may need a lighter shade of make-up!  ha~

5 comments

  1. Hey, I recognize that bronze women! Reminds me of our tanning days,
    way back when!!!
    Congrats for all of your work and progress with your kids.
    Elizabeth

  2. I love this! Your yellow hair is a perfect
    shade to go with your glow. This is how you looked in the summers when you put “Sun In” in your hair & layed out by the pool! How did Jusin know that???

Leave a Reply

