Playing Hooky!

IMG_1149

Today, Nate and I took the day off (played hooky) and spent our day at the Minneapolis Institute of Art.  There was a special exhibit there called, “China’s Terracotta Warriors” that we were both interested in seeing.   I bought us tickets, we took work off, and went on a date while the girls were at school.  Oh, did I mention that it’s Megan’s birthday today too?  ha~  She wasn’t thrilled that she had to go to school while we went and had some fun, but her fun will be tonight for dinner and party with friends tomorrow night.  I’ll blog about her tomorrow.  Back to Nate and I…

This chariot was outside of the exhibit.

This chariot was outside of the exhibit.

When we arrived at the exhibit, there were directions on how to hook up your iPhone to their Wi-fi so you could listen on your phone to an audio tour.  My brother had told us about this in advance, so we knew to bring our headphones/earbuds as well.  Once we were all hooked up, we started to walk in and I noticed a sign that said, “No Photography Allowed in this exhibit.”   No!!!!!   I was so bummed that I couldn’t get one shot of these cool warriors and of course, I couldn’t touch anything either.  So many rules!   Well, we really enjoyed all of these ancient artifacts that were excavated from these tombs that were discovered in 1974.   Here’s a little blurb about it:

“China’s Terracotta Warriors: The First Emperor’s Legacy” features more than 120 objects excavated from the tomb complex of Emperor Qin Shihuang and other sites.

Among the works are 10 examples of the “Ghost Warriors.” The terracotta sculptures were meant to protect the emperor in the afterlife.

The tomb was first uncovered by Chinese farmers drilling a well in 1974. In all, the tomb’s three pits are thought to hold 8,000 life-sized figures of different ranks, together with horses and chariots.

Some of the 10 terracotta warriors in the exhibit have never traveled to the West.”

These warriors that they had on exhibit were huge and the details that were on them were amazing.  My favorite part was their shoes.  They had these neat laces on them.  I wanted to get a picture of these, but there were guards on duty everywhere.

This was all they’d allow me to take~

This was all they’d allow me to take~

After the exhibit, we decided to walk around the museum a little longer and enjoy our day.  Nate was interested in the Greek & Roman sculptures, while I was trying to find some actual paintings.  He found what he was looking for, but they sure don’t have much in the way of Picasso’s or Monet’s.   I came back to find Nate interested in this sculpture and couldn’t resist taking this picture.

Seriously Nate?

Seriously Nate?

When we came across this piece of ancient furniture, Nate told me that this is where they kept their tv’s hidden.  An early entertainment center.  I believed him for a minute, then it hit me that there weren’t tv’s back then.   He got me good!

IMG_0840

They had a new smaller exhibit upstairs that I had read about the day before called, “Supper With Shakespeare”.  It was just one room with a dessert table set up in the way that William himself, would’ve had at his house or on his table.  We found that he liked sugar, after watching a short video about this “sweet table” that was set up.    An English Banquet!

I believe that castle is purely sugar.

I believe that castle is purely sugar.

A few more things we liked today was this neat sculpture made out of cardboard pieces.  I liked it from the front view and then I walked around it and realized it changes.  Really cool.  Take a look~

Front view.

Front view.

Side view.

Side view.

Hmm...what do you see?

Hmm…what do you see?

I took this next picture for two reasons.  First because I thought my mother-in-law would like it.  It reminds me of her and all of her pretty knick-knacks around the house.  Secondly, I just loved how colorful it is!  What a neat display.

Wish I could have this in my living room~

Wish I could have this in my living room~

Tuscan-style table.  Want one please!

Tuscan-style table. Want one please!

Couldn’t leave without a photo of Buddha!

Couldn’t leave without a photo of Buddha!

It was time to leave and get some lunch.  Again, my brother Jim, gave us the name of a place to try.  It was called, “The French Meadow Bakery” in Uptown.

This place is Organic & Vegetarian.

This place serves Organic & natural foods

It wasn’t far from the art museum, so we thought we’d give it a try.  What a neat little cafe this was and very busy at 2:00 on a Friday afternoon.  Shouldn’t these people be at work?!  ha~  I enjoyed soup & sandwich, while Nate had a sandwich & chips.  It was the perfect ending to our daytime date.   I think we may play hooky more often.

Cozy little nook for lunch.

Cozy little nook for lunch.

Now, it’s time to hurry home and celebrate Megan’s 15th birthday!

3 comments

  1. Isn’t it fun to do something like this with no big expectations! For being a “No Pictures!” area, you got some good ones. Yes, I like your pitcher picture too! That would be great to have in your house, especially if it came with a little maid to keep all those pots clean! Jere

Leave a Reply

