Happy New Year to All!

Cheers to all!

Cheers to all!

Here in Minnesota, our new year has come in like a lion!  As I am sitting her writing my blog this morning, it is -5 degrees out!  Brrr…that is quite cold and I’m glad I don’t have to go anywhere today.   Looks like a sweatshirt day with a good book to read while Nate watches football games a plenty!  That’s what new year’s day is all about.

New Years Eve is about hanging out with friends, eating good food and just being happy and looking forward to the future year with high hopes.  Last night Kelly had two of her good friends over to celebrate New Years Eve and kick off a new year at midnight.

They started their night off by playing Twister.  You remember that game don’t you?  I was laughing and having flashbacks as I watched them get all twisted around and falling down and trying to figure out how you’re suppose to get your right hand over to the green dot?  haha.  Always a good time when you bring that out.

Lauren & Emily on the Twister board.

Lauren & Emily on the Twister board.

The next part of the party lasted awhile.  The girls headed upstairs to the bathroom, where they spent the next couple of hours doing hair and makeup.  By the time they finished, they were Red Carpet ready!  Lots of curls in their hair, eye-shadow on the eyes, lip-stick, mascara, and even had glitter on their eyelashes!  They had a good time and came out looking spectacular.

Stay Out!...work in progress~

Stay Out!…work in progress~

Ready to bring in the new year with curls!

Ready to bring in the new year with curls!

While the girls were busy in the bathroom, Nate as always, was busy in the kitchen/pizzeria.  Tonight he wanted to make deep-dish pizza’s for us.  He hasn’t made a deep-dish for some time, so we were pretty excited.  The girls each got an individual pan pizza, while Nate and I shared a big pie.  He had lots of prep to do for these, but it was like watching an artist at work.  Cutting cheese to fit the pan, sautéing chicken,  fresh veggies being thrown in and sauce being slathered on everywhere.  Oh, the aroma was wonderful and it’s just fun to watch!

Our chef at work~

Our chef at work~

Chicken w/green peppers for the girls~

Chicken w/green peppers for the girls~

Look at that!

Look at that!

Time for dinner!

Time for dinner!

I wanted to make something for the girls too.  I went the junk-food route and made a new version of Puppy Chow, that I found on Pinterest.  This recipe called for white chocolate chips, peanut butter, vanilla and the powdered sugar.  I made a big batch and split it amongst three different parties.  Kelly got some, Megan took some to her party, and I sent some over to my friend Sheri.  We really enjoyed it and hey, it has peanut butter, so there’s some protein in it for us, right?!    I also put out bowls of pretzels & chips…now that’s party food.

Appetizer table

Appetizer table

I also made oreo shakes for the girls to enjoy.  They decorated their mugs with chalk and made fun New Year’s designs.  Neat~

Cheers!

Cheers!

Then came that down-time when you’ve finished eating your late dinner, but have to try and stay awake for three more hours!  The girls took over the downstairs and the tv, so Nate and I went upstairs to our room and turned on CNN coverage of Time Square.  We were very amused with Kathy Griffin and Anderson Cooper and as we were flipping channels, we caught Justin Bieber performing.   I wonder if the girls downstairs saw that!   I did enjoy Train singing John Lennon’s, “Imagine”.  A great song right before the ball dropped.

Before the ball was going to be dropped, Nate and I rejoined the girls downstairs with a bottle of white grape juice to bring in the new year and have a toast.  Even Jazz got out of her bed and joined us.  Way past her bedtime!  We counted down with the tv and the Emily said to Kelly & Lauren, “We have to jump up at midnight to start the year on a high point.”  I like that thought.  So I grabbed my camera an got the girls in action.

IMG_0949

Happy New Year everyone!  May 2013 be a good year to you~

4 comments

  1. That sounds like a wonderful New Year’s Eve! I love the jump at midnight to start at a high point. The pizzas look yummy! I hope I get to enjoy one of Nates pizzas this year. Hint hint…..

  2. Sweet! Love everything from the homemade pizzas to the chalkboard mugs to jumping up to bring in the New Year! I stand by my previous assessment that your family is the BEST! Love you Cathy, blessings to you and your’s in 2013!

  3. Nate must have received a razor for Christmas! The last time I saw him ( in January), he was a clean-face guy! Better let it grow. It’s getting cold!

Leave a Reply

