How I Spent My Snow Day

6-10 inches of new snow~

6-10 inches of new snow~

The phone rang at 5:20 am this morning and I couldn’t believe what I was hearing.  The Superintendent actually called a “snow day” for our school district.  I was expecting it to say, “A two-hour late start” for today, but very excited that it was a full blown day off!  I even hung up the phone and looked at Nate and said, “You’re kidding…no way.”   It’s just so rare to get snow days anymore.  They have such good plowing and salting techniques these days, that they seem to be able to get those busses out and onto their routes no matter what.  But hey, I’m not going to complain about getting a day off.

I tried going back to sleep, only to remain in bed until 7:30 because I just couldn’t get fully back to sleep.  Too excited to start the day, I guess.  So what did I do today?  Well, I started my day off with a warm cup of hazelnut coffee on the couch.  It tasted wonderful and I could slowly enjoy it with my jammies on, while texting my coworkers and wishing them a happy day off.

The good life~

The good life~

Hello, Mr. Snowplow man!

Hello, Mr. Snowplow man!

After the coffee and still enjoying the silence of my house (girls are still asleep), I grabbed my book and read for awhile.  Nothing like grabbing the afghan and a good book to start out your day.  About an hour into my book, I dozed off and was awaken by Megan and Jazz coming downstairs to begin their day.  Kelly followed about a half-hour later.  Couch time was over and a shower would feel good.   When I got out of the shower, I could smell something wonderful down in the kitchen.  Kelly had been busy making homemade chocolate chip pancakes for us.  They smelled heavenly~  I made my way downstairs and there was a plate waiting for me with a huge pancake on it.  Yum!   Kelly is definitely the best pancake maker in this house.   She makes big, thick stacks.  Look how good this is!

Thanks Kel!

Thanks Kel!

I really enjoyed my breakfast and that inspired me to want to make something too.  I looked into the cupboard and found a couple of ideas.

Hmmm...which to choose!

Hmmm…which to choose!

I ended up making the cake with chocolate frosting.  Our house just goes from one delicious smell to the next.  Snow days are great!

Bet I can find someone to lick the beaters.

Bet I can find someone to lick the beaters.

Looks naked w/out the frosting.

Looks naked w/out the frosting.

Enough of the inside…after all, this is a snow day and we should go out and enjoy the snow a little.  Megan went outside, only to walk to her friends house for “movie day”, so Jazzy and I went out for some playtime….and a little shoveling.  I was planning on shoveling the driveway, but our nice neighbor came over with his snowblower and did it for us.  Very sweet.  I did do a little work…he didn’t do the sidewalk, so I shoveled that.  I was pleasantly surprised at how easy this was.  When I started to scoop up the snow, I couldn’t believe how light it was.  It was like shoveling powdered sugar.  Took me about three minutes to finish the sidewalk.  Super easy, but I won’t tell Nate that.  I’ll let him think I slaved hours out there.  haha~

My faithful helper was no where to be found.  Jazz tends to “blend in” on snowy days.  She’s quite hard to find sometimes.  It’s like a version of “Where’s Waldo?” only it’s “Where’s Jazz?”   She was out running around the cad-de-sac and would come check in with me every now and then.  I love watching her bound through the deep snow.  She was having a ball!

Good thing her head is brown!

Good thing her head is brown!

Checking in with me.  ha!

Checking in with me. ha!

Around 1:00, my relaxing snow day came to a halt.  I knew it would happen.  I got asked the question…”Mom, can you drive me over to Lauren’s house?”  I explained to Kelly that snow days are for staying home…but she didn’t seem to care, she’d rather be hanging out with her friends.   So off I go, starting the truck up, dropping her off and then heading over to Walgreens to do some shopping.  At least the store wasn’t crowded, if fact, it was very quiet.  I did find a little treat there.  Once I got home to an empty house, I opened the bag and indulged myself with this yummy cookie.  Not sure yet if I’ll share my new discovery with the family or hide these lovely treats.

I deserve this on my day off!

I deserve this on my day off!

That’s how I spent my snow day.  Unfortunately, I have a dentist appointment scheduled for later this afternoon.  Better go brush my teeth, so there’s no evidence of this Oreo.

It sure was fun spending a snow day at home.  I hope you enjoyed your day~

2 comments

  1. Yes, snow days are awesome! I loved mine too. Hey, how did Kelly’s b’ball game go on Sunday?

Leave a Reply

