Springtime, Really?

This weekend, spring finally arrived and man, were we Minnesotans excited.   None of us are really convinced that it will stay for awhile, so when we get this warmth, we jump at the chance to get outside and stay outside for as long as we can.   On Saturday, Kelly had her friend Emily over and they got out the hammock and enjoyed hours of basking in the sun while swaying in this nice comfy chair.  They also took Jazzy for a walk around the pond.  She said there were lots of people walking.  I don’t doubt it.

They look so relaxed.

They look so relaxed.

Megan and I had other plans.  We took over the deck chairs and aimed ourselves towards the sun, laid back our heads and absorbed the rays while chatting about school, boys, sports and other things.   Megan is so busy with homework these days that she doesn’t have much time for anything else.  So I really enjoy the time I do get with her when she takes a break now and then.  It was nice~

Catching up on her texts.

Catching up on her texts.

Jazz invaded Megan & Mom time~

Jazz invaded Megan & Mom time~

One of my goals on this gorgeous weekend was to sit out on a chair and just read my book.  I did the grocery shopping Friday night, so that I’d have some extra time for fun.  It felt wonderful to relax and sit outside once again.  We were all getting so crabby and tired of the snow.   We deserved this sunshine and 70 degree temps.

Working on my tan!
Working on my tan!

We all know that once the weather changes from winter to spring, we get to see our neighbors again.  I saw Laura & Karl out on their patio, Gary & Lynn next door and we got to meet our new neighbors that just moved in about a month ago.  I looked out the window and saw Kelly & Emily playing with a little Jack Russell Terrior, then a guy walked over.  Nate & I then walked over and introduced ourselves and learned a little about them.  His wife Ashley (we think they’re married, not sure yet) was working, so we just met Corey and the dog, Astro.  He’s a cute little dog and Jazz seems to like him too.  Wish I had my camera out there, but you’ll have to wait for a photo at another time.  I think it would’ve seemed creepy of me to be taking pictures on our first meeting.   The new neighbors seem very nice and very young.  She’s still finishing up her degree and he graduated from Stout and is working at United Health Care in Chaska.    They moved here from Hudson and so far, are enjoying Burnsville.   He can’t be all that bad, he went to Stout~ haha

We ended our beautiful Saturday with a light pasta dinner out on the deck.

We ended our beautiful Saturday with a light pasta dinner out on the deck.

Our day wasn’t quite over yet and we couldn’t wait for our evening event.  We went to the Burnsville High School performance of Beauty and The Beast.   My friend Becky’s daughter, Tess, starred as Belle.  She is a 10th grader this year and got the lead, which I’m guessing is pretty rare, but she has an amazing voice and was perfect for this part.  She looked and sounded just like Belle from the movie.  It was a wonderful performance and as a good friend of mine told me….”It will put you in your happy place.”  She was right.

We love Belle!

We love Belle!

Today was another gorgeous 81 degree day.  I was back out on the deck with my book and had the Twins on the radio.   My face is getting a little sunburn but I don’t seem to mind.   Today was Megan’s day to grab the hammock.  She and her friend Beccah relaxed in it today and I think were enjoying their own “girl talk” and as always, lots of giggling was happening.  Those two make me laugh, just hearing them laugh.  Not sure what they really say to one another, but it makes me smile.

Beccah's mom will steal this photo from my blog...

Beccah’s mom will steal this photo from my blog…

Evening is approaching and Nate has successfully gotten the Christmas lights down.  Yay!  It’s time for dinner, so he fires up the grill, put on the hamburgers and we enjoyed our first springtime barbecue.   We didn’t get to enjoy it out on the deck, because as always, when Nate starts to grill, the rainclouds come out.  We had a little sun shower come through and had to resort to dinner inside.  Oh well, at least it was rain, not snow!

Mmm, they're going to be good!

Mmm, they’re going to be good!

It’s nice to get that first spring weekend.  It felt great, put us all in a good mood and motivated us to do a little spring cleaning as well.  Let’s hope we don’t see any more snow for quite a while.  We have seen the light at the end of the tunnel and we don’t want to look back.

Happy Spring Everyone!

One comment

Leave a Reply

