I Love Birthdays

No counting candles please~

No counting candles please~

What a fabulous birthday I had this year.  It actually started last Wednesday and continued until today.  On Wednesday, I went out to dinner with my sister Terry, and my friend Dawn.  I chose an Italian restaurant called, Andiamo (which in Italian means…Let’s Go!).  They had wonderful food but the company was even better.  When the three of us get together, there’s always laughter and usually one inside joke that comes out of it, that we will continue to use for the next few months.  “Thumbs up ladies!”  ha~

Thank you gals for the great gifts!

Thank you gals for the great gifts!

My second celebration was on Friday when my good friend and neighbor, Sheri stopped over.  She has just gotten back from England, so we had lots of catching up to do, since we couldn’t text internationally.  She was so sweet to bring me a gift.    She & I love our Food Network and cooking in the kitchen.  This dish is one of theirs and I love it!  Can’t wait to to put it to use.

A gorgeous serving dish~

A gorgeous serving dish~

It’s on to Saturday and yes, I’m still celebrating.  Most of you know that for the past two years, I have been sharing my birthday with the Burnsville Soccer Tournament.  This will be year three.  Megan’s team played two games on Saturday and won them both.  Each year, it is mandatory that we parents have to work at our own tournament for at least one shift.  This year it was Nate’s turn to work.  He was a Field Marshall out at the fields that Megan’s team played at, but unfortunately he had to work during her second game, so I texted him the scores off and on.  He took his job seriously.

Looking good in orange! The back of his vest said, "Staff".  Don't mess with this guy.

Looking good in orange! The back of his vest said, “Staff”. Don’t mess with this guy.

After her game, we made plans to head out to the Lake Harriet Bandshell in Minneapolis and enjoy a picnic dinner while listening to the Minneapolis Pops Orchestra.  Something we all enjoy and I originally wanted to do this on Sunday, but we decided to split up my birthday plans amongst two days.    Nate made up the dinner plans.  He brought along Italian meats & cheeses that we put on top of Italian bread slices for a nice, tasty dinner at the park.  He also brought along an Italian red wine that was perfect to sip on, on a summer’s evening.  Laura…recognize the plates?  ha~

A gourmet picnic dinner~

A gourmet picnic dinner~

While Nate was parking the car, the girls & I had some fun with the camera.

While Nate was parking the car, the girls & I had some fun with the camera.

June 30th finally arrives and I’m ready to keep celebrating.  The day started out again with two soccer games.  Only this time, I arrived to set up my chair and all the parents started singing, “Happy Birthday” to me.  I was so surprised and it was truly a wonderful moment and such fun.  The girls won their first game which meant game two was for the championship.  I told Megan before the game, “I want a trophy for my birthday.”  As luck would have it, the Burnsville Bandits, took the whole tournament!  First place for the second year in a row.  It was so much fun to see them win at their own tournament and they played great games.  The sun was shining and so were the girls.

Our girls are number one!

Our girls are number one!

I worked hard for this!

I worked hard for this! Think I got a little sunburned too.

We went home and cooled off a bit before heading out for dinner.  I chose a restaurant called, “Punch Neapolitan.”  Nate and I went there about 15 years ago, right after Megan was born.  We love this style of pizza and it’s where Nate got his inspiration for all of his pizza making skills.  They make their pizza’s in a brick oven, which only takes 90 seconds to cook.  The temperature in this oven is 800 degrees!  Wow, that is hot.  This restaurant originated in Napoli, Italy.  When the owners decided to open this restaurant here in Eden Prairie, they had the oven brought over, piece by piece and then reassembled it in the new restaurant.  Talk about your history!

You can watch your pizza cooking.

You can watch your pizza cooking.

I wonder who their wood supplier is?  We each ordered are own personal pizza and enjoyed every bite.  Since the pizza cooks in such a short time, you’re out the door a half hour later.  It’s kind of like a gourmet fast-food place.

Delicious!

Delicious!

After dinner, we went home for cake and presents.  As always, I got the best homemade cards from Megan & Kelly.   They write the nicest things to me.  Nate’s cards are always from the heart as well.  (sniff-sniff).   I have to show off one of my gifts that I will be wearing proudly come this fall.  I’m sure you’ll all agree, I look good in purple.  Right Dell & Jere?

Go Vikes!

Go Vikes!

I must have done something right throughout the year to earn my other gift.  It is something I’ve wanted for sometime, but really never, ever thought we’d have in our house.  I love to cook and all of the cooks, chefs, and even some of my friends have one and I’m so jealous.  Now, I can finally step up to their level and do some serious baking/cooking.  I don’t think I’ll be allowed to make anymore “boxed” cakes.  haha

A girls "power tool!"

A girls “power tool!”

Well, it’s Sunday night and I’m ready to say good-bye to another birthday.  I couldn’t have asked for a better five days.  ha~

The weather was perfect and I got to enjoy lots of family time, which I absolutely love to do.   That’s the best present I could ask for.

6 comments

  1. Happy Birthday, sweet friend! That pizza place looks like a hoot and I love the GREEN mixer! Your famous pumpkin cookies with that?

  2. Looks like a wonderful birthday! Yea!
    Hey I still make box cakes with my mixer. It is just faster and easier. Love my mixer. Hope you enjoy it! I love the green mixer too.

  3. You did have a lovely week!   We need to do coffee.  I’ve hardly seen you at all even though you’re right next door!  Miss you.  🙂

  4. Wow you got your mixer,love love love the color! What a wonderful week you had ,you know how to celebrate and why have a tiara when Megan can give you a trophy.Happy wishes for this year

Leave a Reply

