Christmas Cheer!

Megan’s artistic photo

Megan’s artistic photo

Christmas sure came fast this year and it seemed to go out quickly as well.  Just a blur, so I’m very thankful that I have all of these wonderful pictures as memories of the whole season.   It began with putting up the Christmas tree.  As our tradition goes…Nate starts by pulling the huge box out of the garage attic by himself (super scary), then brings it into the house to warm up for a few days.  Next he assembles the branches and puts on the lights.  He has mentioned, that the older he gets, the more dizzy he gets when going around and around the tree with these bulbs.  ha!  Poor guy.  It’s the girls’ job to step in next and put on the ornaments.  They had such fun this year looking at the old handmade ones that have their pictures on them.  They laughed and giggled while hanging these up.  They are by the far, my favorite ornaments on the tree.  My job comes last.  I am in charge of putting on all the red bows and the tree skirt as the finale.  Once it is finished, we love to stand back and look at it all lit up.  Love it more each year.

IMG_2710

Christmas Eve is when we do our family celebration with just the four of us.  We enjoyed a delicious Cajun Lasagna for dinner then moved on to presents.  We had some fun and interesting gifts this year.  Megan had the most unique gift, I thought.  She wanted a punching bag for working out.  I guess the correct term is…heavy bag.   This thing weighs 80 pounds and Nate managed to carry this box on his shoulder into the house & down the stairs.  He then wrapped it and carried it back up.  Our hero!  After Megan had opened it, he did have her help with the lifting while hanging it up from the beam downstairs.  I pray that the beam holds and I won’t find a hole in my living room above.

Moving it to a spot just to open it!

Moving it to a spot just to open it!

Don’t mess with Megan anymore!

Don’t mess with Megan anymore!

Nate had the other strange gift this year.  In the summer, he is always needing to trim branches from our trees.  He does this by standing on an old rickety ladder using a hand saw.  Our neighbor saw this and offered him his cool tool called a Tree Pruner.  This is one neat gadget, much safer, and Nate loved using it.  So off to Home Depot I went this winter.  When I saw how big it was, I could barely fit it in my truck and thought there was no way for me to wrap it or hide it!  I asked the guy at Home Depot, “How am I suppose to wrap this?”  He smiled and said, “Good luck & Merry Christmas!”   I brought it to my neighbors and they kept it in their garage for me until the week before Christmas.  Once I got it in the house, the only place I could hide it, was under our couch…with no wrapping on it.  After all of the gifts were unwrapped, Kelly said to Nate, “Dad, I think one of yours got pushed under the couch.”  Good thinking Kel.   When he found it, he was very surprised and quite amused that I would buy him something like this.  ha!

Back into the garage till spring!

Back into the garage till spring!

Kelly got one of my favorite gifts this year.  She is our “accessory” girl and has been needing a new earring/jewelry holder for awhile now.  Her collection of earrings in increasing quickly.  I found a neat website that makes earring holders out of pottery.  Each one is unique and the colors are gorgous.  I never opened it when it arrived because it was packed so neatly, so once she opened it, I was even more pleased.  It’s a fun, artsy piece that she can have in her bedroom.  She loved it!

Rings & bracelets can go in the middle too!

Rings & bracelets can go in the middle too!

IMG_1783

My unique and surprise gift, was a San Francisco 49er’s t-shirt.  I have given up on the Vikings this year and have chosen a new team to follow and enjoy.  Now lets hope they make it into the playoffs and possibly the Superbowl, so I can wear my shirt more often!  Ha!

I’m moving out West with the palm trees!

I’m moving out West with the palm trees!

We couldn’t forget Jazz on Christmas.  She always gets the first gift of the season.  This year Nate found a cute candy-cane rawhide that she could get all excited about.  She liked it for about 20 minutes, then was done.  Oh well, we hope she got some joy from it.

IMG_1761

Christmas day came and our stockings were filled with more Christmas cheer.  Soft socks, hot chocolate, movies and neat ice cubes for Nate.  Wow, we are set for warm winter nights in Minnesota.

hmm...someone wasn’t good all year!

hmm…someone wasn’t good all year!

That afternoon, we headed over to my sister’s house for Christmas dinner.  She made a spectacular ham dinner with cheesy potatoes, corn salad, and rolls.  For dessert, the girls and I made brownies with peppermint frosting and crushed candy canes on top.  It was all so delicious!   We opened a few gifts, skyped with my parents and sister in Arizona, and had many, many laughs together with the whole family together.

Cousins hanging out~

Cousins hanging out~

Sandra’s daughter (Christina) and granddaughter were with us again this year.  Paula is a year and a half old and such a fun little girl to be around.  She has lots of energy and a laugh that won’t quit.  When she laughs, we all laugh.  She loved chasing Jazz all night and those ornaments on Terry’s tree were so shiny & tempting.  ha~

I’ll take this one!

I’ll take this one!

Great smiles!

Great smiles!

Thanks Aunt Terry for a wonderful Christmas!   You are the hostess with the mostess!

Kelly enjoys hanging out with her Aunt.

Kelly enjoys hanging out with her Aunt.

Abuelo y Abuela

Abuelo y Abuela

Even the Grinch showed up!

Actually, Greg was in a good mood.  :)

Actually, Greg was in a good mood. 🙂

The next day it was time to travel to Wisconsin and see those Packer fans we love so much.  Dell and Jere hosted a beautiful Christmas at their house.  It’s always comfy and cozy when arriving at Grandma & Grandpa’s and getting the warm welcome to go along with it.  Chad and Jody and their girls Hayley and Melanie were there as well.  And Brett drove over from Milwaukee with his dog Kimber.   The food was delicious and it was fun to catch up with everyone’s lives and hear what’s new.  The cousins chatted about school, clothes, and played on their electronic devices for awhile.  Since the weather was unseasonably warm, they decided to go for walk outside.  Nice~

The Solberg girls!

The Solberg girls!

We played a game, opened some gifts and enjoyed our family time together.

Dell is excited about his “sportula” with the Packer logo.

Dell is excited about his “sportula” with the Packer logo.

I got these super cool goggles with lights and wipers!  I won’t be sharing this gift.  It’s all mine!  haha

Kids at school will love these!

Kids at school will love these!

Nate, Jere & Brett try to figure out the timer on the camera for a family photo.

Nate, Jere & Brett try to figure out the timer on the camera for a family photo.

Time for beverages!

Time for beverages!

A good time was had by all.  Thank you again Dell and Jere!   We are now safely back in Minnesota where it was 45 degrees today!  Lovely drive the whole way (that means…no snow) and we are looking forward to a good night sleep back in our own beds and getting ideas for New Years.  More food!

Here’s hoping you and your family bring in the new year with health and happiness that lasts the whole year!

Cheers!

Cheers!

2 comments

  1. Looks like you guys had a wonderful Christmas. Merry Christmas and happy new year to all of you. I hope this new year we can hang out more. 🙂

Leave a Reply

