Be My Valentine

Secret Cupid gifts ready to deliver~

Secret Cupid gifts ready to deliver~

This week has been all about red, cupids and valentines.   At work we did a “Secret Cupid” drawing.   This is similar to a Secret Santa.  We drew names and then Tuesday through Friday, you were to give a little gift of your choice to your secret person each day.  I had so much fun doing this and luckily, I drew a friend of mine that is a lot of fun to be with so she enjoyed all of my gifts each day.

My co-workers and I had a good laugh all week at my Secret Cupid.  On Tuesday, I got my first gift…okay, this is fun I thought.

Day 1, off to a good start!

Day 1, off to a good start!

Then nothing for the rest of the week.  What the heck!   I didn’t know what to think and the other girls were opening a gift each day asking me, “What did you get?”  Nothing!   I was beginning to wonder what happened to my Cupid or did she just not get how this whole thing was suppose to work or was I not worthy, or did she hate me?  By Friday, my friend Peggy brought me a gift because she felt bad that I wasn’t getting anything.  Hahaha, how sweet is that!  Thank you Peggy, I appreciated it!  Some of my other friends (no names mentioned Jean…) were laughing their “arse” off at me.  Nice~   Anyway, I finally got a note today with a box of chocolates apologizing for not being able to deliver this week because they have been a sick Cupid.  Oh, how awful and I feel bad for her.  It was still a fun idea and I enjoyed seeing what others got all week.  Great ideas and it put smiles on many faces.  Maybe next year, I’ll get a healthy Cupid.   ha!

My sports friend who knows me so well!

My sports friend who knows me so well!

I spend most of my days with the kindergarteners and I just loved the T-shirt my little guy had on today.  Adorable!

King of Hearts!

King of Hearts!

To also go along with my Secret Cupid fiasco, we had a pot-luck lunch today at school.  So last weekend, I made a batch of Chocolate Chip Zucchini Muffins.  The recipe made 24 cupcakes.  I knew I didn’t want to bring them all because we always have way too much food at these potlucks.  Kelly suggested that I only take half along and leave the other half at home.  Okay, that works for me.  At the end of the day today, I go to pick up my leftovers…only to find all 12 cupcakes still in the pan.  Ugh!!!  I brought them home and Megan was so thrilled, she barely waited for me to put the pan down before she was digging into one.  She said, “Yay, I was hoping that no one would eat them!”  Hmmm….I think that is a compliment.  Anyway, it made my day, seeing my kids happy for my cooking.  Loser co-workers!  ha!  (except the ASD staff). 🙂

Best muffins ever!

Best muffins ever!

It’s Valentine’s Day and I’m still in love.  Nate started my day off by bringing me a cup of coffee and had a card and small gift waiting for me in the kitchen.  The card was funny and alongside of that was the newest Michael Bublé CD. Whoo-hoo!

Romantic music~

Romantic music~

A great combination and I knew I’d play it tonight with dinner.  As always, Nate loves to make a nice dinner for us.  This year it included the girls along with Megan’s friend Emily.  Valentine’s Day dates have changed a bit, but we love having our girls involved, if they want to be.  Someday, they’ll be with their boyfriends, not us.  Nate made a Lobster Macaroni and Cheese dinner.  He was intending to buy cooked lobster, but Byerly’s only sells them raw, so he bought a lobster tail (along with directions on how to cook one) and got to work.  It was kind of cool to see.  Glad it was just a tail, not sure I’d like that whole live lobster thing in my pan….in my kitchen!

$7.00 worth of lobster...crazy~

$7.00 worth of lobster…crazy~

What a fabulous dinner it turned out to be.  All of us girls gave it a thumbs up!  Nate knows how to pleas us ladies…all four of us, that’s not an easy task, but he did it.

I hope you enjoyed your Valentine’s Day with your sweetie!

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Happy Valentine’s Day!

One comment

  1. Sounds like a nice valentine night. I always love how your family embraces special holidays.
    We also had a dinner with Michael and friends.

Leave a Reply

