Tide Pools

IMG_2079

Something we won’t ever see in Minnesota are tide pools.  Since we are staying near the ocean, we wanted to take advantage of this and check them out.  We went to two different places to experience these.  One was in Coronado and the other in La Jolla.   Before you go to a tide pool, you need to check a local website for when the high and low tides occur.  This is important, because you want to be there at low-tide when everything is exposed.  Then you need to keep your eye on the tide as your out there, so you don’t get soaked or washed away with the waves!

The Coronado tide pools were a little rocky.  Nate and Kelly walked around these looking for creatures, while Megan and I relaxed on the beach.  When those two went out walking on the rocks, Kelly was asking, “What is everyone looking at?”  She didn’t know that these were tide pools until Nate explained to her what they were doing out there.  Then she thought it was so cool.

Rock Climbing for creatures~

Rock Climbing for creatures~

They found quite a few things out there.  An octopus, anemones, crabs, sea urchins, snails, barnacles, slugs and little fishes.

Mr. Crab~

Mr. Crab~

Look at all those barnacles!

Look at all those mussels!

Love this sea urchin!

Love this sea urchin!

Today we drove back over to La Jolla to walk around their tide pools.  These were more flat  land, rather than the rocks.  I was amazed at how clear the water was in some of the little “pools” that we would find.  You can see clearly all the way to the bottom, which isn’t very deep.

What lurks under those rocks?

What lurks under those rocks?

We were all wandering these tide pools and I found Megan kneeling down looking at something.  She found a Hermit Crab but was too scared to pick it up.  She kept trying to be brave and nearly touching it, finally she calls…”Kelly, come here a minute!”  I knew what she was up to.  Next thing I know, Kelly is showing me this tiny little Hermit Crab.  ha~

The ‘not so brave’ daughter. Just like her mom~

My ‘not so brave’ daughter. Just like her mom~

Nate and Kelly are really good at finding things.  They found three lobsters in one tide pool, but they couldn’t get a picture because they kept hiding.  Another octopus today, but Nate scared that by accident and it hid back under a rock.  He did dig down and pulled out this cool shell that some little animal was calling home.

IMG_2085

I was hoping that I’d find something too and then I got lucky.  I spotted this creepy green and blue crab.  I yelled for Megan to come see it and then we both went, “ewww, he’s so gross!”  Thank goodness I had a zoom on my camera because I would never have picked him up.  I’m just not a girl who likes nature…when it moves!

My creepy green crab!

My creepy green crab!

This one tide pool that Megan and I found, looked like a spa.  We wanted to take off our shoes, step in and feel the warm water.  It didn’t happen that way, because when Megan dipped her toe in, it was freezing!  Looks can be deceiving for sure.

Doesn’t it look relaxing?

Doesn’t it look relaxing?

I would definitely recommend tide pools, if you are ever vacationing someplace where these are available.  Super cool, always something to see and very surprising.  You never know what neat creatures you’ll find hiding inside.

Look out, the tides coming in!

Look out, the tides coming in!

View from the hill where we parked.

View from the hill where we parked.

 

 

 

 

 

4 comments

  1. That looks really neat! Did Kelly collect rocks? I thought I remembered she used to collect them.

  2. She used to Dawn, but she was on the hunt for a sand-dollar on this trip. Never found one. 😦

Leave a Reply

