Girls Night at the Greenhouse

Love these gals!

Love these gals!

Last night was our second annual Girls Night at the Greenhouse, hosted by Mark, Peggy and Nikki at Sailer’s Greenhouse.   This year we increased our number to 15 ladies (one left before the picture was taken).  What a fabulous night out we had.   While we were waiting for everyone to arrive, we hung out and enjoyed some wine, snacks and desserts that people brought along to share.  It was a good time to introduce everyone to each other and get to know some new faces.

Dawn brought her mom along this year~

Dawn brought her mom along this year~

Last year Jean made a hat for her sister.  She loved it so much, she wanted to join us this year and make some of her own planters.

Jennifer & Jean.  Fun sisters!

Jennifer & Jean. Fun sisters!

Last year, Jeanne, Beth & Juli couldn’t make it over because the weather was so crappy.  This year it wasn’t a problem.  So glad they could come along and be apart of our night.   Jeanne took many pictures with her high-tech camera.  I can’t wait to see them!

New faces at the greenhouse!

New faces at the greenhouse!

Then of course, there were my “old faithful” friends who were here last year, and couldn’t wait for this event again this year.   Everyone really meshed well together, I guess we girls have no problem meeting others.  ha~

Renee, Claire & Laura

Renee, Claire & Laura

Sheri & Beth, I’m sure were talking Silpada jewelry.

Sheri & Beth, I’m sure were talking Silpada jewelry.

Elizabeth, Jean & Laura...my co-workers.

Elizabeth, Jean & Laura…my co-workers.

Once we all arrived, Nikki gave a little presentation on what we’d be doing tonight.

Our cute host!

Our cute host!

This year she added something new…Fairy Gardens.  Many of my friends were thrilled to make one of these.  They all turned out so cute that I’m a little sad I didn’t make one myself.

It was time to start working.  We put our wine glasses down and dug our hands into the dirt.  We were ready!  Last year, I made a purse planter with succulent flowers in it.  We had some new choices this year.  There were purses, high-heel shoes, low-healed shoes, coffee mugs, hats, an even watering can planters.  All so cute, it was hard to choose.  I decided to make a teacup planter for my deck.   We start by putting dirt into the container, then added succulents, vines, and other flowers of your choice.  I put a little colored moss in mine this year, to add a little zing!   It turned out beautiful, I love it!

I need some sunshine!

I need some sunshine!

The other ladies were busy making lovely planters as well, so I went around and took a few photos of them working.

Karin went w/the teacup too.

Karin went w/the teacup too.

Juli’s will look like a designer purse when she’s done.

Juli’s will look like a designer purse when she’s done.

Laura picked the cute watering can~

Laura picked the cute watering can~

Renee needed moss!

Renee needed moss in her coffee mug!

Jean and her sister made their mom a gorgeous planter and they also made fairy gardens.  They were working hard tonight!

Love those hot, sexy gloves, Jennifer!

Love those hot, sexy gloves, Jennifer!

IMG_2121Next, we have the ladies with the fairy gardens.  They had to do some thinking and designing before they could get started.  I just grabbed a few flowers and plunked mine into my teacup, these gals are a little more “artistic” than me.   Elizabeth was working a long time on hers and I couldn’t wait to see what she was going to design.

IMG_2126

I work with her, and I know how creative she really is.   She put a little fence around her garden and started adding things.  Look how cute this is!

Love how colorful it is!

Love how colorful it turned out!

Dawn and her mom also made fairy gardens.  Dawn’s mom told me that she has a gnome garden already, so she was going to add this next to it.    Love the little cobblestone path.  Aren’t these fun!

Great job ladies~

Great job ladies~

Once we finished our ‘projects’, we took some time to walk around the greenhouses and just enjoy the scenery.  Everyone always tells me that it’s so therapeutic in the greenhouse and that they could stay here all night.  It’s true…it’s warm, colorful and smells wonderful. So relaxing~

spring & summer blooms~

spring & summer blooms~

Look at all that green!

Look at all that green!

I need a few of these planters.  Adorable!

I need a few of these planters. Adorable!

We were all so proud of our accomplishments tonight.    What a fun time we all had.  Thank you Mark, Peggy & Nikki for having us again and letting us run around and make these wonderful planters and gardens.  We will think of you all summer long as we enjoy our flowers!  We love Sailer’s Greenhouse!

Claire wanted to take credit for this planter...but we knew better.  lol~

Claire wanted to take credit for this planter…but we knew better. lol~

 

 

4 comments

  1. What a fun night, Cathy!   Thanks for putting it all together!  I’m still giggling about the walking of the flowers in Sheri’s driveway! 

  2. It was a fun night Cathy! Thanks so much! Thanks for inviting my mom, she loved it.
    That cat was pretty funny, he was following me around.

Leave a Reply

