Nate Turns 50 Today!

IMG_2153

We celebrated the big one today….50!  Nate usually takes the day off on his birthday, but the weather forecast wasn’t looking too well today, so he decided not to waste a vacation day and went to work.  His coworkers bought him a cupcake and Dilly Bars from Dairy Queen to help celebrate while at work.  Nice!  As soon as he got home from work, I had a job for him.  The toilet needed to be plunged…ha!  Just because it’s your birthday, doesn’t mean you get out of your chores.

In a house full of girls, we still need the dad to plunge!

In a house full of girls, we still need the dad to plunge!

We usually go out for our birthdays, but Megan had an orientation tonight for her new job, so Nate decided that he’d rather stay home and make a birthday dinner.  He also felt that we went out enough in California for his birthday.   He planned & cooked his own birthday dinner (cause a guy knows what he likes for dinner).  He made a dinner that was definitely “restaurant-worthy”.  We had Prime Rib, mashed potatoes and sautéed peppers & pea pods.  It was fantastic!  The prime rib was first browned in our cast iron skillet for 15 minutes on the stove, then into the oven to slow-cook for about an hour and half.  Came out juicy and medium rare, just the way we like it.

Cuts like butter~

Cuts like butter~

Now that’s a birthday dinner!

Now that’s a birthday dinner!

We did have a few gifts for him to open.  One of his gifts came in the mail a few days ago from his parents… all the way from Sheboygan, WI!   He opened that first.   They know Nate pretty well and he was very excited to find a pizza stone in this large box.  The great thing about this stone, is that it can go on the grill.  Nate does not have one of these, so now we will get to enjoy grilled pizza’s this summer.  The girls and I thank you, Grandma & Grandpa!  Yum, a new cooking adventure for Nate to try on his Weber grill.

Like the red glaze on this.

Like the red glaze on this.

He moved on to our gifts.  As per usual, I’m a little controlling at times with my gift opening.  If you know me, I usually have a specific order that I like you to open my gifts in. It’s just my way.  This time, I actually put a number on each gift because it coordinated with what I had written in his card.  Normally I’m not this weird…

See the numbers on each gift?  heehee

See the numbers on each gift? heehee

This first gift didn’t have a number because it didn’t go with my card, so I had him open it first.  I called it my 0.5 gift.  I confused them all.  So just open it and lets get this party started!  It was a card that showed what was going on 50 years ago on April 16th.  Some neat findings in here.  One thing Nate thought was cool, was that the Rolling Stones had their first concert as a headlining band.  Wow, and their still going strong today too.  My friend Sheri was with my when we bought this.  She needed to know what day of the week Nate was born on.  Okay, we peeked…he was born on a Thursday…but I’m sure his mom could’ve told us that.  Fun stuff!  I can’t wait to read more.

IMG_2148

I wrote in Nate’s card to “Keep finding new hobbies“…hence gift #1.  An electric guitar book.  This is his newest hobby/interest.  He’s hoping to buy himself an electric guitar and learn to play, just like Kelly is on her acoustic guitar…only Nate’s will be louder.   I have to admit, I found myself looking through this book and finding these guitars, pretty cool looking.   As long as he doesn’t start growing his hair into a ponytail, I’m okay with this.

Barnes & Noble comes in handy~

Barnes & Noble comes in handy~

His next gift (#2) said to “Always walk in your own shoes, not others”.  So yeah, I bought him a new pair of shoes.  I got lucky and they actually fit!

Daddy needs a new pair of shoes!

Daddy needs a new pair of shoes!

The last gift I wrote about…said, “Always drink good wine and you’ll always keep in good ‘spirits’.”  I found a bottle of his favorite kind of wine…Chateaneuf du Pape.  When I looked at the price, it happened to be $50.  It was meant to be!

They both age well~

They both age well~

We were stuffed after dinner, but of course had room for a little dessert.  After all, we had to sing happy birthday still.  We did not make a birthday cake for today, because we are celebrating again on Sunday/Easter with my brothers & sister, so cake will be eaten that day.  But everyone should be able to make a wish on their birthday, so we bought a small cheesecake for tonight.  I put a couple of candles in it and Nate made his wish.  A fun ending to his birthday celebration.

Happy Birthday Nate!

Happy Birthday Nate!

We love you!!!

Here’s to 50 more years!

Here’s to 50 more years!

 

6 comments

  1. Look like a fun night! Wow! Nate is going to play electric guitar. That is cool!
    Happy 50th birthday Nate!

  2. Enjoyed your post, Cathy!  Tell Nate Happy Birthday! and there is life after 50!  haha

  3. Loved the gift ideas but seriously Cathy,OCD!
    Kevin was chuffed to hear he had a fellow guitarist I am sure Kevin would love to go guitar shopping with him and welcome to come jam in the basement anytime.
    Happy 50th Birthday Nate.enjoy your birthday Easter celebration.

Leave a Reply

