What Mom Does on Mother’s Day

I love being a mom!  Best daughters ever!

I love being a mom! Best daughters ever!

Today is Mother’s Day!  It’s a fun day to do whatever I’d like and usually that means relaxing.  We started the day out with a pancake breakfast.  I thought this wouldn’t happen until around 11:30 or so, but my teenage daughter’s surprised me by being up at the 10:00 hour, so I got it started right away.  I was planning on pulling the box of pancake mix out of the cupboard, but found that we didn’t have enough, so out came the cookbook and I made them from scratch.  Turns out pancakes are pretty easy…no more boxes at our house.

IMG_2197

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Golden flapjacks!

Golden flapjacks!

 

Nate was on bacon duty.  Mmm, he had that pan sizzling with lots of strips of tasty, salty bacon.  Can’t you just smell it!  The perfect accompiniament for pancakes.   Thank you Hon!

IMG_2199

After breakfast, I sat down to do my next favorite activity….reading cooking magazines!  It was such a busy week and my reading materials were piling up on the coffee table.  It was time to paint my nails, then sit back and flip through the many pages of recipes. Such fun for me as I dream about making most of them for my family.  Nate said to me this morning, as I was making pancakes, “Since I’m making you dinner, this is why you’re making breakfast.  You have to cook at least one thing every day.”  Ha, maybe he’s right!  I rarely make breakfast.

IMG_2203

Which one to start with first?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

While reading on the couch, Nate noticed a red cardinal in our front yard.  What a wonderful sign of spring!  We will take anything we can get these days.  He bought this pretty new blue bird bath and I thought the cardinal looked so nice sitting next to it and all the green grass around.  It was worth taking a picture of.

Colors of springtime~

Colors of springtime~

 

When I finished my magazines, the sun was coming out and we could feel the weather warming up.  I decided to get my butt off the couch and take Jazz for a walk around our beautiful pond.   We both could use the exercise and we sure enjoyed it.  Yes, I brought my camera along and Jazzy was very cooperative.  Think in her older-age, she’s willing to stop once in awhile while I take a few shots.  As long as there are no birds, squirrels or geese in sight.

Bird watcher~

Bird watcher~

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jazzy scared these geese off of the path & into the water.  Good girl!

Jazzy scared these geese off of the path & into the water.  Good girl!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Love seeing all the new buds on the branches!

Love seeing all the new buds on the branches!

A gorgeous view today~

A gorgeous view today~

Next, it was gift time…my family is so good to me.  They always go overboard, but I love them all.  Megan’s gift was so thoughtful this year.  She went on a fieldtrip last week to the Festival of Nations at the River Center in St. Paul.  While there, she bought me this pretty necklace that is from Lebanon.   I love it!

Thank you Megs!

Thank you Megs!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Kelly also picked out a wonderful, thoughtful gift.  A candle holder that says, “If I could choose again, I would still choose you.”  Oh, love this!  She also threw in a fun, summery cup that I can sip my ice tea in this summer.  Great idea!

I’m ready to relax with these.

I’m ready to relax with these.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nate always gets me something on Mother’s Day and I tell him…”I’m not your mom”, but he can’t help himself.  Okay, I love that about him.  Ever since we’ve put in the hardwood floors, I’ve been wanting a gel mat for my kitchen.  I spend 80% of my time in my lovely kitchen and my back is starting to feel it at age 48 (sad isn’t it?).  Anyway, he has surprised me today with my Gel Pro mat.  Going to be so happy while cooking!

Mom is a happy camper!

Mom is a happy camper!

Happy Feet!

Happy Feet!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next it was on to dinner.  Yesterday, Nate had asked me if I wanted a special brunch or dinner (prepared by him).  Well, I always go for the dinner if asked that question.  I had already had a dinner idea chosen for today, so I told him what it was, I picked up the ingredients, and he was willing to make the dinner.  It is a Champagne Risotto with Roasted Red Peppers and Asparagus.   Okay, sounds delicious right?  Well, we only needed one cup of the champagne, so Nate says we should open it up and sip on it while he makes the risotto.  Fine by me…but then he has me pop the cork.  I don’t think I’ve ever done this before because it scared the crap out of me!  I am being told I must blog this photo…oh boy….go ahead and laugh~  My father-in-law is never going to let me live this down.  But I’m a good sport and team player.   🙂

I’m such a spazz~

I’m such a spazz~

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Risotto dinner was fabulous.  We all enjoyed it and filled us up.  The champagne went well and the girls enjoyed Ginger-Ale in their flutes.  They did sample the real thing, but went for the soda instead.

So tasty!

So tasty!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What a great day I had.  This is what Mom does on Mother’s Day.  I hope all my Mom friends had a wonderful day as well.  Now it’s time to change over to the Wild jersey and watch our Wild Hockey team take on the Chicago Blackhawks.  A win tonight on Chicago ice would be the icing on the Mother’s Day cake!    Go Wild!

Happy Mother’s Day!!!  Love these guys~

Happy Mother’s Day!!! Love these guys~

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 comments

  1. There is always something good cooking at the Solberg’s!!!!
    My girls took me out for Chinese. We are lucky mothers!

  2. After looking over a handful of the articles on your site, I truly like your
    way of writing a blog. I book marked it to my bookmark webpage list and will be checking back soon. Please check out my website tooo and let me know your opinion.

Leave a Reply

