Birthday Moments

IMG_4121

I have always loved my birthday and the fun stuff leading up to it and beyond.  Sometimes my birthday can go on for an entire month…those are great years.  haha    This year I started receiving cards in the mail towards the middle of last week.  I was very good this year and didn’t open them until today.

The excitement begins to build~

The excitement begins to build~

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This past weekend was the Burnsville Soccer Tournament.  As always, we parents have to volunteer for one shift…mine was on Saturday morning.  It was a very hot, humid day and I even got sunburned.  When I got home, there was a box waiting for me that had arrived in the mail.   I opened it and found chocolate covered strawberries!   The perfect snack to cool me off.  These strawberries are gigantic!  They were from my friend Sue.  I couldn’t wait to thank her for these.

Delicious!

Delicious!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Another package that arrived via the mail was from my Mother & Father-in law.   As always, they have the funniest cards and always make sure to write something “witty” as well.  This year’s card has to be up there in the top 10.  An older lady, in her bathrobe with cucumbers on her eyes, chugging from her coffee pot and the card saying, “Another year older and perkier than ever.”   Included in the card, was a Starbuck’s gift card.  Ha!  I love it.  So I had to send them a ‘thank you’ in the best way I could….

Thank You Del & Jere!

Thank You Del & Jere!

When I woke up this morning, I got a text from my neighbor, Laura, asking me to meet her at the fence out back.   She’s kind of an early bird, so I told her I was still in my jammies and hadn’t had my coffee yet, but would get back to her.  She said she loses track of time in the summer.  That’s a good thing…but no one needs to see me in my pajamas.   In an hour (after coffee and a shower), we met at the fence.  She had my favorite…Sea-Salt Caramels from our local chocolate factory.  What a nice surprise!  We hung out, chatted for awhile, and got caught up with our families and busy lives.  We work together, so we’re used to knowing what’s going on every day with each other.

My morning treat~

My morning treat~

My day was starting out well.  The sun was shining brightly and I had many wishes on Facebook already.  So many nice people and good friends.   Makes me happy!   Sadly, the sun went away and once again, we had rain.  It’s been a very rainy June and lots of flooding throughout the state.  At least it didn’t go all day, finally stopped about mid-afternoon.  We could use some drying out time.    While I dropped Kelly off at weightlifting class, Megan baked my birthday cake.  I chose a strawberry cake with strawberry frosting.  I picked strawberry long before my gift arrived, but it seems to be a theme this year.

Kelly was in charge of frosting~

Kelly was in charge of frosting~

Smell good!

Smells good!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We went out for dinner at Porter Creek, one of our favorite restaurants here in Burnsville.  We are never disappointed in their food. I had my favorite…Asiago Crusted Walleye.  We were also celebrating Megan & Kelly’s academic achievements tonight, and they ordered a special three-berry lemonade that was so delicious, I ended up ordering one as well.

So proud of these two!

So proud of these two!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Back home, I found a table filled with wonderful presents, just waiting for me to open.  I couldn’t wait any longer.  My family never fails to surprise me.   Nate remembered that I had wanted a Panini Press.  I was so excited when I opened this box.  He also added a Panini Cookbook…smart guy!  Can’t wait to try it out this week and see what they all think of my gourmet sandwiches.  It’s a win-win situation for us all.

hmm...what to try first...

hmm…what to try first…

Megan and Kelly found a really cute beach bag (guess where they want to go this summer) and got me some earrings and a gorgeous necklace.  Love my jewelry and they know it!  They also have fabulous taste.

A little ‘bling' for the summer!

A little ‘bling’ for the summer!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One of my favorite gifts was from Nate.  I used to have this Mickey Mouse watch that played, “Its a Small World”.  When the girls were little, they’d always ask me to “play my watch.”  One day, Mickey died on me and it was very sad.  Today, Mickey is back with me!  He doesn’t play a tune, but I love it just the same.  What a thoughtful, fun gift.  Thank you Honey!

Adorable~

Adorable~

Welcome back Mickey!

Welcome back Mickey!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We enjoyed some birthday cake later in the evening, after the dinner settled.  I attempted to blow out 49 candles this year and was unable to do it.  I left one lit.  Hmmm…guess I still have one boyfriend!   That boyfriend also brought me flowers after work today, so he’s a keeper!

pretty color~

pretty color~

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What a great day it has been.  Caramels over the fence, strawberries in the mail, what else could happen?  Just one more thing…at 9:30 tonight, I got a text from my friend Sheri, asking if she can run over.  Once again, I was in my pajama’s, (we’ve come full-circle now) but that didn’t stop her…over she ran.   She walked in with a basket of freshly baked Cheesy Scones, right out of her oven!  She had the basket wrapped in cellophane and it was all foggy from the warmth.   They smelled wonderful and we were all wishing that we didn’t have that cake!  There was also a jar of marmalade & chocolates inside the pretty basket.  We now have a delicious breakfast to look forward to in the morning.  Thank you Sheri!

Love getting a food basket!

Love getting a food basket!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is why I love birthdays.  I get to have family time, eat great food, and enjoy special wishes from all my friends.  What more can a girl want…nothing.   Thank you all for making my birthday so wonderful!

IMG_4107

 

 

3 comments

  1. 49??? And still blond. Cute blog. We noticed that when you are with the girls, you are shrinking!! It must be the coffee..It sounds like you had a great day. Keep chugging!

  2. I always scroll through your photos first and I was struck by you chugging coffee from the pot,yikes.Loved that you had a great birthday the Mickey Mouse watch is adorable and loved hearing the story behind it.Beautiful photo of you and the girls and you and your boyfriend!Happy Birthday

Leave a Reply

