First Attempt

My best deck flowers yet!

My best deck flowers yet!

We’re about half-way through the summer and there have been a few things on my “to do” list that I’ve had a chance to do or at least try.  One of them was to make home-made ice cream.   I received an ice cream make for a Christmas gift this year, but being how cold and miserable it was this past winter…ice cream just wasn’t in the dessert plan.   Now that it’s summer and we’re feeling the 80 degrees, the cravings have started.   Since I’ve never made ice cream before, my first step was to find some recipes.   I sure didn’t like what I was seeing when I first got started.   All this cooking over the stove, be sure not to curdle the milk, freeze, then refreeze…ick, this sounded like too much work!   My family was going to suffer and I didn’t care, we’ll just buy the ice cream at the store.  Way easier.     Then I found a recipe that said…”Easy Eggless Strawberry Ice Cream.”   Okay, this caught my eye and looked like a good ‘starter’ recipe.   No cooking required beforehand.  Just mash some strawberries and add all the liquids.  This I could handle and I was hoping my family would think I spent hours on it.  haha

Step one, was to go get the ingredients.  Okay, I found out that this was the “easy” part of the Easy Strawberry Ice Cream.

main ingredient...fresh strawberries!

main ingredient…fresh strawberries!

I’m in the kitchen with all my stuff, ready to make ice cream.  Then I read about my ice cream maker.  First direction….be sure the maker is in the freezer for a minimum of 15 hours.  Ahhhh!!!!    So I put the bowl in the freezer and said, “see you tomorrow, I’m off to read my book.”  It’s the next afternoon and I’m fired up to get started.  My bowl is frozen, I have my ingredients, now lets put it all together and make some dessert.   Step two of the ice cream maker was in spanish, english, and about 4 other languages.  Once I found the one that made some sense to me, I tried very hard to assemble it, like it says.  It didn’t go so well.  There were only two parts I needed to insert and do you think I could figure it out?  Nope….had to call in reinforcements.   “Megan!!!!! come down here please and see if you can help me!”   She was no use, couldn’t figure it out either.  I wasn’t going to be beaten by this machine.  I texted my friend Sheri, who has one of these, but she was no help either.  I kept at it for about 15 minutes, jiggling everything I could and somehow, the piece finally slipped into place.  I was so surprised and happy that I had won!   I’m sure I’ll go through this each and every time I use this machine, but now I know that it will go on.  ha~

How the heck does this fit?

How the heck does this fit?

It’s all good~

It’s all good~

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

All my ingredients are in my bowl and ready for dumping.  That was the next problem…dumping into the machine.  It says you need the machine twirling while pouring the ingredients into the bowl so that it doesn’t freeze right away.  Can you see from picture #2 that there’s really not that much room for this.  I had to transfer all the ingredients into my batter bowl, which has a spout.  I’m getting smarter as I go…most of it made it into the maker, with just a few strawberries on the side.   Then the machine did the rest for 20 minutes.   Yes, I am taking notes.  I will be a master at this by the end of the summer.

Swirl, swirl, swirl~

Swirl, swirl, swirl~

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I checked the consistency of my ice cream after the 20 minutes and it looked pretty good to me.  At this point, it says that it should look like soft-serve.  Mine did, so out it came.  Next I had to find a container to put it in once more, then off to the freezer for 2-4 hours to harden it a bit more.  I didn’t have an air-tight container, so a bread pan was going to have to do, with some foil wrapped tightly on top.  Wasn’t the prettiest looking dish, but it did the job.  I will Google containers, once I’m through.

My shallow pan worked great.

My shallow pan worked great.

I was so thrilled to taste my creation and then I realized that I was home alone with no one to share my excitement with.  Of course, I sent out pictures to tease my family and show them what they were missing.  Once they got home, they went straight for the freezer.    My first attempt was a complete success.  Strawberry ice cream gets a thumbs up from us.

A dish of summertime~

A dish of summertime~

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s always an adventure in the Solberg Kitchen~   Next….the Panini maker!

 

 

 

3 comments

  1. OMGod! What an ordeal….I definitely would have opted for the drugstore kind. Congratulations on a job well done!

  2. Was that using the kitchen aid mixer? A attachment specifically for that? That looks very yummy!

  3. What’s so hard about that, Cathy? Oh my gosh, I probably would have put the machine back in the box and given it away for a white elephant Christmas present! But you have a great story and the end result looks delicious! Congratulations for sticking in there. Jer

Leave a Reply

