A Little Picasso In Everyone~

IMG_4296

Last night, a group of us girlfriends tried a new adventure.  We went to a place called, Cheers Pablo, here in Burnsville.   They are known as a “wine & canvas” type of place.  These are popping up all over the Twin Cities and are very popular, especially for a girls night out.  We’ve seen other friends go out and do this and I am always impressed at how well their paintings turn out.  I couldn’t imagine myself even coming close to painting what the picture looks like, without having a paint-by-number canvas.  But hey, I wanted to give it a try!   Cheers Pablo opened their doors on Tuesday of this week and we went on Wednesday.  Unfortunately when we arrived, they told us that their liquor license had not arrived yet, so they were unable to serve us wine or beer but we could have all the free water we wanted.  We also were given a coupon for free night of painting, if we decide to go back again.  That was very nice of them to offer that.

Our beverage for the night~

Our beverage for the night~

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We started the night off by putting on our paint aprons, finding an easel to sit by, and checking out our cool paintbrushes.  Seemed pretty professional to me so far, then I looked at my paint palette and saw that it was a lame paper plate.  Oh well, I’m not a professional anyway, so this will do.  haha~

Wonder if Monet wore a stylish apron?

Wonder if Monet wore a stylish apron?

Dawn & her Mom ready to get started.

Dawn & her Mom ready to get started.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

No where to put my thumb~

No where to put my thumb~

Okay, we’re all set to get started.  We had a very nice artist/teacher who taught our class step-by-step.  She had a screen with slides for each step as well as painting on her own canvas while she spoke.  She was very nice and helpful at those times when she saw some of us “struggling” a bit.  (Those names will remain anonymous).   She walked around giving us positive feedback, suggesting some colors to add, and showing us how to correctly use some of our brushes.

Our very own Van Gogh~

Our very own Van Gogh

 

We all needed her at some point.  haha~

We all needed her at some point. haha~

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Which to choose!!  We called the one on the right...Big Mama~  We’re so technical.

Which to choose!! We called the one on the right…Big Mama~ We’re so technical.

Our first step was just to paint over the lines that were already drawn in for us (thank you for that).  It was the outline of the dock, which was our main focus and the title of our class…”Bonding on the Doc”  I didn’t misspell ‘dock’, this is how they spelled it, so it must be artsy!  ha~

So far, so good~

So far, so good~

Sheri did an awesome job of outlining.  heehee

Sheri did an awesome job of outlining. heehee

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I liked the next step…filling in all the blue water.  We got to use “Big Mama” for this one and just paint in the whole background.  Before I left, Nate gave me some advice.  He told me to use big, whispy strokes.  That’s what I did for my water.  Sheri tried it too and we both agreed that it worked well and gave our water the feel of movement.  Well, in our eyes anyway.

Lake Michigan?

Lake Michigan?

Now came the part I didn’t like so much…trees!   We were to add trees all around the water by mixing our greens, yellows, some white and any other colors you wanted.  Mixing wasn’t a problem, trying to make them even or look like they were in the distance, was a little tricky for me.  The taller trees would be up close and then you were to get smaller the further away you went.  I get that, I just couldn’t paint that so well.   So I dabbed and dabbed the best I could and then had to take a break and walk around to look at other peoples paintings.  That was a bad idea!   I loved everyone else’s trees.  What was my problem?   The artist/teacher assured me, that once the entire painting is done, they will look fine.  So I sat back down and waited for our next step.

Laura has a beautiful forrest of trees!

Laura has a beautiful forrest of trees!

The key to making trees, is to have your tongue out~

The key to making trees, is to have your tongue out~

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My trees look stunted~

My trees look stunted~

Why are Julie & Jean so happy?  We’re painting trees!

Why are Julie & Jean so happy? We’re painting trees!

 

At one point, Claire thought her painting looked better upside down.  She hit that frustration level too. ha~

At one point, Claire thought her painting looked better upside down. She hit that frustration level too. ha~

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Glad to be moving on…the dock was next to be added.  I had much more success with this than the trees.  Brought my confidence back and I stayed in my chair the entire time.  She showed us how to make it look a bit rustic and weathered by mixing some blue in with our brown.  Once I had my colors on the dock, she came over and showed me a neat technique (using Big Mama) of sweeping the bush across the canvas and sort of ‘blurring’ the look.  I thought this was cool and loved the end result.   Then we added a sunset and two people sitting on a bench, to finish it off.

So peaceful~

So peaceful~

We were all pleasently surprised with our paintings.  It was 2 1/2 hours of fun and we learned some things as well.   We listened to great music while we painted, chatted, laughed and took many pictures throughout the night.   We all agreed, that we would go back again for another girls night out.  Next time….we’ll have wine and maybe be a little more confident as well.

Dawn’s hanging her painting up at her trailer. Perfect spot!

Dawn’s hanging her painting up at her trailer. Perfect spot!

Bernie & Meghan have some talent!

Bernie & Meghan have some talent!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mother/Daughter comparison.

Mother/Daughter comparison.

Claire knew her limits & opted to not add the people on the bench. ha~

Claire knew her limits & opted to not add the people on the bench. ha~

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sheri & I now have our Christmas shopping started.  Who will be the lucky recipients?

Sheri & I now have our Christmas shopping started. Who will be the lucky recipients?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thank you Cheers Pablo for opening a place right here in Burnsville!  We can’t wait to come back for another night of fun!

My Picasso friends!

My Picasso friends!

5 comments

  1. Hey, Monet…I think I’ve seen this in some art gallery! ( I can’t wait to see the “Wine-inspired” version!!).

  2. What a fun experience. My friends and I did that Paint A Plate, that was really fun also!

  3. From: Don Thuesen Sent: Tuesday, May 26, 2015 8:36 AM To: Undisclosed-Recipient:; Subject: Fw: Warning!

Leave a Reply

