Zipping Through the Trees

Megan, Kelly, Aunt Terry,  Evan...the brave four~

Megan, Kelly, Aunt Terry, Evan…the brave four~

My sister has made herself a ‘Bucket List’ and one of her items this summer was to go Zip-Lining.  She posted on Facebook that none of her friends would go along with her, so I wrote back and said that I know of two nieces that would love to join you in this activity.  She was super excited and sent me the information to get them signed up.

We went to a place called, Sand Creek Adventures in Jordon, MN.  It’s about 30 minutes south of Burnsville, so not too far.  I signed them up for the three canopy zip line tour.  Spanning up to 1700 feet (combined) across the Sand Creek bluffs, with a 100 foot vertical height over the water.   So they zipped down the first line, waited their turn for the second one, then again at the third one.  It was kind of a zig-zag through these bluffs.  Pretty cool to watch from the top, where I stood, my feet planted safely on the ground.  ha~

Okay....scary!

Okay….scary!

My view~

My view~

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

First step was to get all the gear on and listen to the instructions on how to go down the proper way.  They were told not to panic, but you will most likely turn or twist a little as you zip down.  As we watched the first couple of people go down, this was true at about the half-way point, they’d twist a little and then back to a frontward position.  Guess you get a full view as you go through it all.  Evan was the brave one who went first.  He said he wasn’t nervous at all.

Boys first!

Boys first!

Aunt Terry went second, Kelly third and Megan…all smiles…went last.  I don’t have pictures of Terry because she wanted me to video her adventure on her phone.  That was neat to do and it turned out great!  What a good keepsake for her to share and brag about to all of her friends.  She did great, even though a bit scared to take that first step.  I was very supportive…again, with my feet planted safely on soil.   Kelly was up next and she too, was smiling as she got ready.   The gal on top (LeAnn) gave her instructions beforehand, checked out her safety straps, then told her she was ready to go!

Kelly & LeAnn give me the thumbs up~

Kelly & LeAnn give me the thumbs up~

Leap of faith!

Leap of faith!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Off she goes!

Off she goes!

Megan got to watch Kelly from the start as she zipped all the way to the next stopping point.  That’s a great view from up there.   When they got the signal from the other leader that Kelly had landed safely, Megan was hooked up and ready to fly.

Not a problem~

Not a problem~

 

Mom needs the thumbs up!

Mom needs the thumbs up!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

She loves this!

She loves this!

Whew!  They all arrived safe & sound to their first destination.  All I could do now, was watch them zip past on the second line down below me.   It was hard to know when they would be coming, but you could hear the “zinging” of the cord and that meant someone was on their way.  I had my camera ready in hopes I’d catch them or at least a blur of them.  Luckily Kelly was wearing a bright orange shirt, so I saw her coming and started snapping shots.  I knew Megan would be next, so I got ready for her as well.  As I looked into my lens, I started laughing because Megan happened to see me up on the hill and was waving at me!  Oh my gosh, that girl is all about having her picture taken.  haha~  I missed Terry & Evan because I was chatting on the hill with other people who haven’t gone yet.    I actually knew one of them, she is a sub at my school.  What are the odds?    Sorry Ter…

You look great Kel!

You look great Kel!

Hi Megs!

Hi Megs!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The last line they went on, was too far away for me to get pictures of, but I could see them for a bit.  They said the hardest part of this trip was hiking back up to the top!  Guess it was tiring in the 80 degree heat.   They sure had a great time and all of them enjoyed this trip so much.  Kelly now has set her sights on Zip-Lining through the Rainforest, and Megan has said she would like somewhere exotic, such as Belize.  Oh boy…think Mom won’t be joining them on those trips.

View from 2nd zipline.  Evan brought his phone & took this shot.

View from 2nd zipline. Evan brought his phone & took this shot.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After our adventure was over, we were headed home, but had to make another stop.   Minnesota Largest Candy Store was nearby and we have never stopped in to see this place.  Today was the perfect day to go exploring one more time.

IMG_4492

My sister and I knew we’d probably be getting ourselves in trouble by taking four kids into this place, but this was on my bucket list, so it had to be done.  ha!    This place wasn’t exactly what we thought it would be.  Not very fancy inside and felt like we were at the circus.  Very colorful, things moving around, annoying circus music playing, and lots of people inside!   I felt like I was in the Midway at the Fair.   Thinking that “Carnies” would jump out at any minute and try to talk me into playing a game.    haha!

They even had a ferris wheel!   Yes, it moved~

They even had a ferris wheel! Yes, it moved~

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We did find some fun and interesting items.  Terry had heard they have giant gummy bears, so we were on a hunt for them.   Can you imagine eating this much gummy?   Can you say..”Tummy ache!”

Found him!

Found him!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Terry is pretty good at finding things that she knew I’d like to try.  I’m not much of a candy person so I found myself just wandering and looking for Megan & Kelly.  Then Terry pops up with this delicious looking popcorn.  Chardonnay, Pinot grigio, and Merlot flavored.  She knows what I like.  We both bought ourselves a couple of bags for movie night.

My kind of candy~

My kind of candy~

Megan and Kelly each found some interesting items as well.  For some reason the Tin Man was inside the candy store, holding a tray of candy.  We’re not sure why he is here, but nothing else made sense either. He had a little green lightbulb on his hat.  Megan brought this bottle of soda to me and says, “Mom, is this okay to be selling?”  We both laughed and I said, “Gee, I’m not sure we should get that.”

Stalin-ade?  oh boy~

Stalin-ade? oh boy

 

Kelly made the Tin Man’s hat light up!

Kelly made the Tin Man’s hat light up!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We stayed for about a half hour before we all agreed it was time to get out of this mad-house.  It was neat seeing some of the “old” candy that you can’t find in the stores anymore an reading some of their labels.  It wasn’t a horrible experience, but not sure I need to go back.  Once is enough.   At least now every time I drive past this place, I can finally say, “I’ve been in there.”

Our stash we came home with~

Our stash we came home with~

 

3 comments

  1. I love that place. We go every fall and get pumpkins, apples, candy, and of course a awesome pie!

  2. Oh my goodness, Terry is courages. I chickened out in St. Martin.
    Bob knew he couldn’t go, and I got scared!!!!

Leave a Reply

