Minnesota State Fair

IMG_4692

Today was State Fair day.  We picked the perfect weather to hang out for seven hours and just browse the booths and people watch. This year we decided that we would try some new foods and not just have the usuals or the typical fair food.   My friend Peggy told me that I should try the Lobster-on-a-stick.  She said she saw it on tv and it looked awesome.  So my mission was to find Lulu’s, which is where there made this.   It took about 10 minutes, and Kelly spotted this new restaurant.  It was right near the entrance that we came in.   Off we went to get some and Megan noticed that they also had Mac-n-Cheese-on-a-stick.  She thought that sounded good and we’ve never had that before.  Both of these items were new to the fair this year, so we will have to tell others to give it a try because we gave these both, a thumbs up!     A funny thing happened after I ordered my lobster.  I brought it over to the table and this very nice elderly couple came up to us and said, “Which is the lobster?”  I showed them my order and the man says to me, “Give it a taste and tell me what you think.”  Of course I did what I was told and took a bite, then gave my opinion.  It’s quite good, but rich, so I told them to share an order.  They thanked us and got in line.  Haha, it was so cute.

Both were delicious!

Both were delicious!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nate was the first one to start off the eating today.  His new discovery was at a place called,  The Blue Barn.  He spotted a “Chicken in a waffle cone with sausage gravy”.  This sounded weird to me, but we all had a taste and agreed, it was yummy!  Had a little spicy kick to it as well.  Think we’ll go back to the barn next year.

A fan of the barn!

A fan of the barn!

Both of these restaurants were in a new area of the fair that used to be Heritage Village.  This was all torn down this past year and in its place, a new transit station for busses, many new booths, and even a “Fair Wear” store where you could purchase State Fair clothing.  They really did a nice job on this area.  Looks fresh, clean and updated.  Well done!   The girls and I had to wander over to the jewelry booths, we told Nate he could go find a “guy booth” but he said he’d hang-out with us.  I found a bracelet that I loved, then Nate walks over with a new ring on his finger.  He found something before us girls!  haha~  Now that’s a first!  FYI…my purchase was $20, Nate’s was $2….we’re still in check.

Happy Anniversary to us!

Happy Anniversary to us!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We finally got out of the new area and into the old state fairgrounds.  It was time to search for more food and find something that Kelly was craving.  She was trying to stay somewhat healthy, so this yogurt place was just right for her.   She put fresh pineapples, strawberries and blueberries on top.  We all had a scoop and I have to say, that hit the spot after our fried food.

Good choice Kel!

Good choice Kel!

Megan started having another craving and as we walked past Vescio’s Italian restaurant booth, she yelled out that she wanted to try an Italian Egg Roll.  Okay, let’s give that a go.  While she was in line, Nate says to me, “Hey, that’s Mike Yeo.”  I looked over and sure enough, he was standing at the same booth as us, while his kids ate at the picnic table.  I grabbed my phone, told Nate to get the camera ready, I’m going over to say hello and have my picture taken.  For those of you who don’t know….Mike Yeo is the head coach for The Minnesota Wild Hockey team.   I was “star struck!”    I knew I’d never have this chance again, so I walked up to him, told him I’m a big Wild fan and could I get a picture.  He smiled and said “Sure, no problem.”   Nate walked over afterwards, we chatted just quickly with him and told him to have a great season (we meant that).  He’s a great guy, very easy to talk to and just genuinely nice.  I’m glad I was brave enough to do it.

Me and the coach!

Me and the coach!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Well I couldn’t really eat anything after that excitement, so we headed to the Fine Arts buildings.  On our way, we passed the U of M booth and on the stage talking was the Gopher’s head hockey coach.  Gee, I see a theme happening here.   Goldie the Gopher was also present.  Think he was trying to recruit Megan and Kelly for college material.  Hmm…we’ll see.

Coach Don Lucia...had to ask Nate his name...no clue!  ha~

Coach Don Lucia…had to ask Nate his name…I had no clue! ha~

Future Gophers?

Future Gophers?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We made it to the Fine Arts building to enjoy the local paintings and photography that they always have in here.   I saw this painting and it made me laugh out loud!  My favorite of the day by far.  I’m not sure why I like it so much, but her expression is priceless.

A grandma moment~

A grandma moment~

Another favorite of mine was this mosaic garden.  It is much prettier and colorful than my picture shows.

Such talent~

Such talent~

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I can’t imagine how many hours it took to make this cathedral clock.  It was absolutely gorgeous and the detail was amazing!

Wood carving is neat~

Wood carving is neat~

We exited the Fine Arts building and found that the State Fair parade was just beginning, so we took a break, sat down and enjoyed the bands, floats, and of course, the princesses doing their fake hand waves at all of us.  We were getting hungry again, so it was time to move on down the road.  My brother Jim had told Nate that O’Gara’s has a pretzel curd that sounded pretty good.  Now, this is a scary moment for us because we are all about the cheese curds.  We found our favorite years ago at Mouse Hole #3, and we have never strayed since.  But since we agreed to try new things this year, we had no choice.  We headed to O’gara’s and there they were on the menu.   We each took a bite and gave our reviews…we loved them!  They are less salty and greasy than the normal cheese curds, and that pretzel crunch is delicious~  Now I’m not saying we will never go back to Mouse Hole #3, but we may switch it up year to year.

Happiness is...a pretzel curd

Happiness is…a pretzel curd

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One of our favorite things to see at the fair in the Agriculture Building, is the crop art.  The people that make these pictures and sculptures must be the most patient people in the world.  Everything you see on these are made from some type of seed.  Some are so tiny that they use tweezers and magnifying lenses while they work.  Here are few that I thought were neat.  The first two are tributes to two famous people who passed away this year.

Robin Williams

Robin Williams

Maya Angelou~

Maya Angelou~

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We thought this last one was very creative.  Of course you recognize that it’s from The Scream by Edvard Munch, but the artist made it local by adding the Stone Arch bridge in the background.  I love that!

Great crop art~

Great crop art~

While we’re in the Agriculture building, we can’t leave without running over to see the largest pumpkin.  This too, is a tradition for us.  This year’s pumpkin was a monster!   Weighing in at 793 pounds from Foley, MN.

What a fatty!

What a fatty!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One of our last stops today was to the animal barns.  The girls always love seeing the horses and today we found a few very sweet ones that they could walk up to and pet.  There were a few horses that had signs on their stables that said…”I bite”.  Yikes, they got a little scary when we got too close.  One of them actually showed his teeth!  I backed off.

Such large animals~

Such large animals~

 

This horse was so sweet & loved being petted.  She was so relaxed.

This horse was so sweet & loved being petted. She was so relaxed.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We spent seven wonderful hours at the fair today and had perfect 78 degree weather the entire time.  We couldn’t leave the fair without getting our Sweet Martha’s Cookies.  This is the first time we’ve ever gotten the bucket of cookies and brought them home.  So again, trying something different…sort of.   haha

That was our family day out and as always, we will be back again next year and will try something new.  I have my eye on the Scotch Egg Meatball.  It’s a meatball with a hard-boiled egg in the middle.  It looked so delicious.  Just didn’t have enough room left this year.

A terrific way to spend time with our girls.

A terrific way to spend time with our girls.

 

 

 

4 comments

  1. What a super fun day you guys had! I’m so happy the weather was great for you…. hoping to get there Monday but not sure yet if it will work out… thanks for all the great recommendations!

  2. Wendy and I were out there yesterday too! The Scottish egg got put down a notch on my favorite Fair Food list. The Mashed Potato Ball is now #1! Mashed potatoes with bacon rolled in a ball, then coated with a light batter and deep fried. Dipped in sour cream or ranch….heavenly!!

  3. What an amazing day you had.
    Loved your account and the pictures
    Who knew pretzel curds would be a thing although i grew up having Scotch eggs for tea parties i guess it must be an English thing.loved the crop art always neats, of course have to say super duper jealous of you hanging with Coach Yeo!

Leave a Reply

