No More Cute on Halloween~

It’s Halloween night and I’m doing my usual….sitting at the island, doing a little blogging in-between my trick or treaters, and listening to the radio.  One thing is different this year….Nate is here with me.  Usually he is out chaperoning Kelly and friends with all the other dads, but I guess we’ve reached that point where parents are not needed out there anymore.

Both of the girls had plans for the night (and they didn’t include us).  Megan and friends went out trick or treating but for a cause.  They went house to house asking for donations for the local food shelf.  She is in a club at school and this was one of their projects.  How great is that!  They still love to dress up in costumes, but give back to their community.   Megan was a Ninja Turtle (Leonardo), Olivia and Rachel were nurses.

Megan, Olivia, and Rachel.

Megan, Olivia, and Rachel.  Way to go girls~

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Kelly went over to her friend, Johanna’s house.  Johanna has a five year old sister, and they took her out trick or treating tonight.  Some of their guy friends joined them and afterwards, they were just going to hang out…and I’m sure, eat a little candy.   I love all of their creative costumes.

Zombie ballerinas

Zombie ballerinas

Party time!

Party time!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Some of my favorite costumes that came to our door tonight were…Hanz & Franz, two characters from SNL.  When I acknowledge them, the boys lets out a sigh and says, “Finally…someone knows who we are.”  ha!   Another one that I thought was very creative was a girl dressed up as a Starbucks worker, complete with green apron and name tag.  She said trick or treat, then handed me her Starbuck’s cup.  I put the candy in it, then she dumped it into her bag.  I thought that was a good one.  I had one kid come up with a Gateway computer box over him.  I said, “Oh, are you a computer?”  He looked at me pointed to the word on his box that said, ‘cow’ and said, “No, I’m a cow.” oops~     My favorite of the night was a tiny little girl pirate, probably about 3 years old, walked up to me and said, “My fingers are fweeeezing”, then stuck her bucket out for me.  Such a cutie.  As she left, she says, “But tonight it’s Halloween.”   I wanted to bring her inside, warm her up and give her hugs.  Adorable!

In school today, the kids were a bit hyper and very excited about halloween and the parties they would be having.  I was sent to first grade and help Rylan and Byron with their party.  They did some cute and new things this year.   They rotated to four different stations.  The first was the snack table.  They got to make their own “dirt cake with worms”.   At first, my friend Byron wanted nothing to do with ‘dirt’ and said, “yuck, no thanks.”  Then I explained that the dirt was actually crushed oreo’s and the worms are gummy worms, he was all over it.

His worms became fangs~

His worms became fangs~

Digging into the dirt!

Digging into the dirt!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A couple other stations that the boys were at, they got to make something.  The first one they rolled the dice and had to match that number to the skeleton’s body part.  Once they got all the parts, they glued him/her together.  Fun and easy to do.  The other project was to make Pete the Cat.  A very popular children’s book character.  This one took a while to put together, but in the end, it was neat project and the kids all liked it a lot.

Pete’s everyone’s favorite

Pete’s everyone’s favorite

"dem bones, dem bones”...

“dem bones, dem bones”…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You can’t have halloween without pumpkins.  Last Sunday, we pulled out the carving tools and got down to business.  You may notice that we have five pumpkins this year rather than four.   No, I did not have a baby.   Megan’s boyfriend, Jacob, joined us in the fun festivities.

Traditional “goop” picture~

Traditional “goop” picture~

 

Kelly’s ready to dig in~

Kelly’s ready to dig in~

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Men at work~

Men at work~

We girls attempted to cut off the tops, but it’s too much work and we handed over the knives to the guys to help get us started.   Next, we drew on our faces then started cutting away!   I had too many zig-zags on my mouth and got very confused on where to cut, so Megan had to erase some of my lines and then I was back at it.  I just don’t have an eye for this art stuff.    Megan found a design on Google or something, so she used that.  Maybe I’ll find an app next year that can help me.  haha

Technology plays a part in the designing portion of Megan’s pumpkin.

Technology plays a part in the designing portion of Megan’s pumpkin.

Trying to hard~

Trying to hard~

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Okay, we’ve finished them and it’s time to light them up!

Spooky is the new cute~

Spooky is the new cute~

Tonight was another cold Minnesota Halloween, but it didn’t stop kids from coming out and having a little fun for awhile.  I hope you had a fun night as well.

These two scare me~

These two scare me~

 

Jazz hands!

Jazz hands!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Happy Halloween from the Solbergs!! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 comments

  1. Looks like you all had a great Halloween!!! How did Megan make those nice cuts in her pumpkin??? It’s hard enough doing straight lines!!!!!

Leave a Reply

