Happy Birthday Megan!

IMG_5312

What a wonderful day we had today.  Megan turned 17 and we can still remember her being that little tiny baby we brought home 17 years ago.  So many things have changed since then.  She’s grown some hair, gotten taller, and has a boyfriend.  Three important things for a teenager to have or need.

Still waiting for that hair to come in.

Still waiting for that hair to come in.

She & Jacob make a cute couple~

She & Jacob make a cute couple~

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We hung out at the house most of the day, then late afternoon, Megan was getting antsy to open her gifts that I had strategically placed out in the open.  So before dinner, she opened her gifts.  Kelly chose the color lime-green for Megan’s pullover.  I wanted a purple one, but then she told me that Megan keeps wearing hers, so she knew she’d like this color.

Like mom, Megan loves her slippers.

Like mom, Megan loves her slippers.

Kelly picked this out, because Megan keeps stealing hers.

No more stealing Kelly’s.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This morning, I walked into Megan’s room and she had framed a picture of she & Jacob from Homecoming.  This was sitting on her table.  I asked her….”Isn’t that Jacob’s christmas gift?”  She said, “yeah, but I like it, so I’m keeping it here until I wrap it.”   This gave me one more gift idea.  I quickly uploaded the picture to Walgreens and Kelly and I went to Kohls and found a nice frame for it.  Kelly gave it to her tonight.  She was very excited and thrilled to have one for herself.    Isn’t the internet wonderful!

Happy to have her own~

Happy to have her own~

Surprise!

Surprise!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oh yeah….one more fun gift that was a pretty big hit for Megs.  A gift card from the gas station!  I’m not kidding, she loved it.  So if you need an idea for a teenager, I would recommend you shop at SuperAmerica.  Things certainly change as they get older and so do the stores you shop at.  Used to be Toys R Us!

Happiness!

Happiness!

We always go out for dinner for our birthdays and this year Megan chose Chianti Grill.  It is a wonderful Italian restaurant here in Burnsville.  The weather this weekend is gorgeous.  Temperatures were 51 degrees, so all of our snow has melted and only a light jacket is needed.  We kind of like this “brown Christmas” idea.

Still pretty w/out snow.

Still pretty w/out snow.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We invited Jacob to join us for the celebration and when we picked him up, he a little gift bag for Megan as well.  He is a nice boyfriend that fits in well with our family.  We all had a wonderful meal at the restaurant and then went back home for cake.

Megan loves Reece’s Peanut Butter Cups and Pieces.  It’s her favorite candy, so I incorporated this into her cake this year.  Made the 17 out of the pieces.  I thought it turned out pretty neat and she was surprised and liked it.  Her biggest fear, was blowing out the candles because Jacob was there watching.  So we made a big deal out of how many will remain.  I think she was actually getting a little sweaty worrying about this.    She didn’t like my setup of candles because they were really spread out.   We just laughed.  She got very lucky and left only one candle lit.  Jacob was funny and said…”That candle won’t go out.”  Cute!

One boyfriend only.

One boyfriend only.

Birthdays are such fun and I’m thankful that we get to spend the day together and enjoy family time.  It’s hard seeing my girls grow up but at the same time, I’m so proud of them both and the mature adults they are becoming.

A hug from Dad~

A hug from Dad~

Love these two!

Love these two!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Happy Birthday Megan Grace!!!

and many more...

and many more…

3 comments

  1. Happy Birthday Megan. Wow, time is flying, today is my oldest granddaughters 16th birthday! Cathy, I love your blog!!!!

Leave a Reply

