More From Arizona~

Okay, so we left off with my Dad touring us around Surprise for the day.  We went home and hooked up with Mom, but before going inside, the question that the girls have been waiting to ask for 10 years, finally came out.  “Grandpa, can we drive the golf cart?”  This is what they remember from our trip ten years ago.  I took a picture of them on their first golf cart ride and so I wanted to recreate the picture on this trip back.  The sun wasn’t quite at the right angle to do the exact direction, but we did our best. (Dad was very patient with me).  I love it!

Special moment with Grandpa~

Special moment with Grandpa~

They did get to drive it themselves this time.

They did get to drive it themselves this time.

 

 

Mom & I goofed around too!  Selfie time!

Mom & I goofed around too! Selfie time!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Okay, the fun was over and naps and showers were needed after all the swimming &  sweating in the sun and then out for dinner later that night.  They had dinner plans made for us when we arrived, so we knew we were going to this cool place about 15 minutes away, called “Dillons.”  It was a wonderful barbecue place thats main attraction was a huge, curved shark tank that held many Black-tipped sharks.  The walls nearby had mirrors on them, so it gave the illusion that sharks were swimming all around you.  Very neat!  We also saw some Stingrays in there as well and one fish that looked like a fat flounder.   We figured he’d be dinner at some point for one of those sharks.  ha~

He looks like he’s smiling~

He looks like he’s smiling~

Great atmosphere for dinner.

Great atmosphere for dinner.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Megan & I dove into that BBQ!

Megan & I dove into that BBQ!

After dinner, Mom and Dad took us out to the back of the restaurant.  They had flamingos and a white alligator on display.  It was too dark for my pictures to work and the alligator was sleeping in a corner.  Who could blame him, it was getting late.  We headed home to do the same.

The next day, we met up with my sister Peggy to do the “hand off.”  Our plan was to stay with my parents for two days, then two days with her.  They live about an hour from each other, so we met half way for lunch (yes, lots of eating happens when you’re on vacation).  After lunch and our sad goodbye’s to my parents, Peggy drove us to Chandler, where she lives.  On our way, we stopped at the Chinese Cultural Center and walked around the pretty gardens and sculptures.

The pond had many fish in it.

The pond had many fish in it.

Amazing architecture on their buildings.

Amazing architecture to their buildings.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

These girls always loved to be ‘framed’~

These girls always love to be ‘framed’~

Namaste’...think it means I’m relaxed.  For you Jean!

Namaste’…think it means I’m relaxed. For you Jean!

I did an “oops” and ruined the Feng shui by walking off the path.  I got yelled at by my three fellow travelers.   I was too busy trying to get a shot from up on the rail and didn’t notice I went into the rock.  Sorry girls!  But I loved looking at the mosaic paths that we walked along.  I can’t imagine the time that went into making these.  Absolutely beautiful.  My friend Sheri wants to take a Mosaic class, so I expect she will have one of these running through her backyard this summer.  (heehee)

See my footprints.

See my footprints.

Buddah told me I should not return to my home...too cold~

Buddah told me I should not return to my home…too cold~

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

That was a fun way to spend an hour and Peggy had never been here before, so that was neat for her to see as well and hang out with her nieces.  We headed back to her house to unpack the suitcase again and meet her birds.  She has two of them.  One is a parakeet named Harlequin and the other is a Green Cheek Conure named Fumbles.  What is that you ask?  Let me show you…

Kelly handled the bird well.

Kelly handled the bird well.

Megan is freaking out at this moment.

Megan is freaking out at this moment.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Megan was so scared at first that she started to cry and her face got all red, but she was having fun and was trying to be brave.  Eventually, she calmed down and learned to relax around Fumbles.  It was so hilarious to watch her tense up each time that bird came over to her.  Fumbles is a  very social bird who likes being the center of attention and/or just wants to hang out with the gang.  By the second day, Megan seemed comfortable enough for me to do this…

Wake up Megan!

Wake up Megan!

Peggy was such a great host to us.  She took us out to their local comedy gallery for a hilarious night of fun.  It was a family-friendly improve show that didn’t disappoint.  The girls and I were laughing from start to finish.  Great idea Peg and thank you for the tickets. We loved it!

The next morning Peggy cooked us breakfast before our busy day ahead.  We were heading to Sedona for the day.  It was a two hour drive from her house…but that blog will have to wait.  I will give you a hint….it didn’t suck!

What a cutie...and so sweet!

What a cutie…and so sweet!

6 comments

  1. I love the photo of you and Megan at the restaurant ,what’s with that face?The garden area very tranquil and that may well be my next project.I am very impressed Megan ,I think I would of had to medicated Beccah before she would of been calm enough for the bird to lie on her.
    Fubbles is very pretty and she co ordinates nicely with your shirt.
    How fun for the girls to drive the cart and great side by side photos .

  2. Megan wanted us to pose like that. haha. I also have a nice one where we are smiling. Be sure to check out what our bibs say.

  3. I feel the need to correct one of your statements – we did NOT meet 1/2 way for the hand off lunch – I drove to the West side for you! I’m glad you gals had fun (so did I!) and Fumbles says you are all welcome back anytime! Hopefully a little longer trip next time. =)

Leave a Reply

