Won’t You Be My Valentine?

IMG_5800

We all know that Valentine’s Day is generally a celebration between people in love.  I found a few other traditions about Valentine’s Day that I thought would be fun to share.

Saint Valentine’s Day, also known as Valentine’s Day or the Feast of Saint Valentine is a holiday observed on February 14th each year. It is celebrated in many countries around the world, although it is not a holiday in most of them.

While the European folk traditions connected with Saint Valentine and St. Valentine’s Day have become marginalized by the modern Anglo-American customs connecting the day with romantic love, there are some remaining associations connecting the saint with the advent of spring.

While the custom of sending cards, flowers, chocolates and other gifts originated in the UK, Valentine’s Day still remains connected with various regional customs in England. In Norfolk, a character called ‘Jack’ Valentine knocks on the rear door of houses leaving sweets and presents for children. Although he was leaving treats, many children were scared of this mystical person.  How can this be any scarier than a leprechaun?  ha!

In Slovenia, Saint Valentine or Zdravko was one of the saints of spring, the saint of good health and the patron of beekeepers and pilgrims.  A proverb says that “Saint Valentine brings the keys of roots”. Plants and flowers start to grow on this day. It has been celebrated as the day when the first work in the vineyards and in the fields commences. It is also said that birds propose to each other or marry on that day. Another proverb says “Valentin – prvi spomladin” (“Valentine — the first spring saint”), Saint Valentine marks the beginning of spring.   Valentine’s Day has only recently been celebrated as the day of love. The day of love was traditionally March 12, the Saint Gregory’s day, or February 22, Saint Vincent’s Day.   The patron of love was Saint Anthony, whose day has been celebrated on June 13.

I kind of laughed when I read the tradition in South Korea… In South Korea, women give chocolate to men on February 14, and men give non-chocolate candy to women on March 14, known as White Day.  On April 14 (Black Day), those who did not receive anything on 14 February or March go to a Chinese-Korean restaurant to eat black noodles and lament their ‘single life.  Now that’s sad.

We celebrate Valentine’s Day at work by signing up to be a Secret Cupid.  We are suppose to spend only $15 on three days worth of gifts and “secretly” give them to the person who’s name you drew.  It’s fun to do and who doesn’t like to get a little treat bag in their mailbox for three days.  At the end of the third day, the office has a chart of hearts that reveals who your secret cupid is, in case you haven’t figured it out.  Cute idea~  I had a very generous Cupid this year and super creative.

All I need for my next cold.

All I need for my next cold.

Basket #1 filled with treats.

Basket #1 filled with treats.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We also had a very nice pot-luck luncheon yesterday that was filled with valentine treats, salads, desserts, dips and crockpots filled with warm meals.  One of my favorites was this tomato, basil & mozzarella appetizers, which our music teacher made.  I made brown-sugar blondies with valentine M&M’s.  Lucky for the girls, not many got eaten because there were so many desserts, so they got to enjoy them when I got home.

Very festive!

Very festive!

What a pretty display!

What a pretty display!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

All the classes had their valentine parties today.  You never know how these days will go, so just in case, I made sure my migraine medicine was in my pocket.  I spent most of my party time with the first graders.  They have such a nice class and it all went so well and it was a lot of fun.  They played a few games, did an art project, and had a little snack.  They got a little time to peek at their Valentine bags, then it was on to a movie to calm the bodies down, give the teacher’s a break and have a little quiet time before the end of the day.

Cute little crabs!

Cute little crabs!

 

How many hearts can you stack in 30 seconds!

How many hearts can you stack in 30 seconds!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Strawberries dipped in cool whip, then sprinkles~

Strawberries dipped in cool whip, then sprinkles~

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

He never took a bite, only licked the good stuff off.  ha!

He never took a bite, only licked the good stuff off. ha!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I moved on to the Kindergarten party next and they too were having a treat.  Think they win for best treat.  A bowl of vanilla ice cream, chocolate sauce, Redi Whip, then topped off with a cherry!  Oh my were they happy campers!  I loved their cute “Love Bug” headbands that they were wearing.  Always a cute group of kids.

Mrs. Andrews’s class of ‘bugs.”

Mrs. Andrews’s class of ‘bugs.”

Striking a pose for me~

Striking a pose for me~

My little ‘bug’.  Can’t believe he let me take his pic!

My little ‘bug’. Can’t believe he let me take his pic!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I never did need that migraine medicine, which makes for a happy ending to a Friday the 13th and Valentine’s Day all in one.  Whew, I made it!    As I was getting ready to leave for home, our sixth grade friend came and found me to show me his valentine box that his Aunt made for him to put his valentine’s in.  I just had to take one more picture.  Couldn’t believe the size of this thing.  Now that’s a serious box!

Winner for largest valentine holder!

Winner for largest valentine holder!

Don’t forget your loved ones tomorrow on February 14th!  Maybe you’ll celebrate in a special way as well, like others do all around the world.   Happy Valentine’s Day~

Came across this on my way out…cracked me up!  Now this the tradition of a 2nd grader!

It’s not about the card, it’s all about the candy!  ha~

It’s not about the card, it’s all about the candy! ha~

4 comments

  1. Cute idea the secret Cupid ,who doesn’t want to feel speacial for valentines week.
    The mozzarella and tomatoes looked delious for the pot luck.
    Valentine parties for the little ones is always fun ,looks like there was lots of happy children or should I say bugs.

Leave a Reply

