Happy Mother’s Day/Weekend~

I started Mother’s Day off on Saturday this year.   Sort of turning this holiday into a weekend thing…hehe.    Went out this morning and got my haircut.  I am trying out a little bit of a new style.  Going without bangs.  Now if you know me, you’d know that I’ve had bangs my entire life, so this is a big deal for me and will be a lot of work and probably a lot of bad hair days along the way.  My stylist told me that if I really hated it, I could come back and she’ll cut my bangs for free.  She is so sweet~  I really want to try and make this work tho.  I need something different.

My updated look~

My updated look~

My next stop on my Mother’s Day travels was to Target.  I bought us a new hamper!  Yep, it’s what I’ve always wanted.  haha.  Actually, Nate has been wanting me to buy a new one for about 10 years.  He hated our last one, but I just couldn’t get myself to get a new one when this one was still fine…ugly, but fine.  So when it broke this week, we both laughed and I thought to myself…oh no, he’s going to get me this for Mother’s Day.  I had to get it first.  Not something I wanted from the family or for a gift.

Total Wine happens to be right next door to Target, so I popped in there and got myself some nice gifts as well.  That’s a bit more my style than hampers.  Nate is grilling a beer-can chicken and I thought a nice Rose’ would go perfect on this beautiful summer-like day we are having.  I walked in and found this display right in front of me!  It was meant to be. Perfect!

Pretty display~

Pretty display~

I filled up my basket...should’ve gotten a cart.

I filled up my basket, it was heavy…should’ve gotten a cart.

Gifts to myself!

Our new hamper & wine.  I know..I’m weird.

Okay, so now I’m home from my little shopping spree and it’s time to relax.  The weather is gorgeous today, so I couldn’t wait to get out on our deck and absorb some sun.  Lucky me, my newest Cooking Light arrived as well, so I was set with my reading material.

Time to start folding pages~

Time to start folding pages~

Now it’s Nate’s turn to take over Mother’s Day for awhile.  We were planning on grilling out on Sunday, but the weather is calling for rain all day, so a change of plans had to be made.  He got his new grill for his birthday and hasn’t been able to use it, due to rain, musicals and prom.  We’ve been busy and he’s been itching to get it uncovered and start it up.  Tonight it finally happens…beer can chicken with fresh vegetables and grilled pineapple.  As I write this blog, I can smell the aroma of mesquite wafting into our living room.  It’s going to be so tasty.  My Mother’s Day dinner on Saturday…it works for me!

His new toy~

His new toy~

How cute is this!  Looks like he’s waving to me~

How cute is this! Looks like he’s waving to me~

I’m going to go eat…you keep reading.

Going back in time for a moment…

The modern American holiday of Mother’s Day was first celebrated in 1908, when Anna Jarvis held a memorial for her mother in Grafton, West Virginia.   Her campaign to make “Mother’s Day” a recognized holiday in the United States began in 1905, the year her beloved mother, Ann Reeves Jarvis, died. Anna’s mission was to honor her own mother by continuing work she started and to set aside a day to honor mothers, “the person who has done more for you than anyone in the world”. Anna’s mother, Ann Jarvis, was a peace activist who cared for wounded soldiers on both sides of the Civil War and created Mother’s Day Work Clubs to address public health issues.

220px-Anna_jarvis

In 1914 Woodrow Wilson signed the proclamation creating Mother’s Day, the second Sunday in May, as a national holiday to honor mothers.  Mother’s Day is a modern celebration honoring one’s own mother, as well as motherhood, maternal bonds, and the influence of mothers in society.

I kind of like the way the Belgium people celebrate…noting the father’s role.  In Belgium,  Mother’s Day is celebrated on the second Sunday of May. In the week before this holiday children make little presents at primary school, which they give to their mothers in the early morning of Mother’s Day. Typically, the father will buy croissants and other sweet breads and pastries and bring these to the mother while she is still in bed – the beginning of a day of pampering for the mother.

It is now Sunday and Mother’s Day begins again.

I didn’t get treats while in bed this morning (we’re not Belgium), but I did get a wonderful brunch made by my family.  They made blueberry pancakes, bacon and a yummy cinnamon swirl cake.  That was a nice way to start out the day (for us German/Norwegian/Swedish people).

Relaxing way to start the day~

Looks delicious~

The family surprised me with a couple of thoughtful gifts.  A new book to get started on, some beverages to sip on this summer and a wonderful gift certificate for Manicure & Pedicure at my favorite local nail salon.  Nate told me the story of how he ventured into this place and couldn’t understand a work these Chinese ladies were saying to him.  He finally called Megan for help.  Ha!  I love that he tried by himself.  He has no idea what a Gel Manicure really is.   The girls loved this gift, because he also got them one as well so that we can have a girls day out.  Love that!

My next gripping novel~

My next gripping novel~

Summer on the deck items

Summer on the deck items

As always, Kelly made a beautiful, thoughtful card and Megan found a unique one for myself and Nate.  She got us those “remember when” type of cards to see what was going on the year we were born.  We enjoyed reading and laughing at all the fun stuff that happened back in 1964 & 65.  Great idea Megs!

Interesting stuff inside

Interesting stuff inside

I was just about to publish my blog, when Megan’s friend Courtney stopped by.  I yelled to Megan that she was here.  When she came in, she said, “I’m actually here for you.  I brought you something.”  She wished me a Happy Mother’s Day and handed me a packaged that only a teenager would wrap…used a grocery bag.  ha!  I opened it up and a found a beautiful picture of the three best friends (my other daughters) and it made me cry.  These three have been together since 6th grade.  She thanked me for letting her stay for many dinners, driving around to soccer and for everything else.  What a wonderful surprise and so thoughtful.  It is very special to be thought of in that way…as a second mom to someone.   (sniff-sniff)

All grown-up~

Courtney, Megan, Olivia.  All grown-up~

The rest of Mother’s Day will be spent lounging around.  I may read a little, Pinterest some, and later make some dinner for my family.  It’s been a great weekend and I am very lucky to have such a wonderful husband and two daughter’s to hang out with, each and every day.

Happy Mother’s Day to all my fabulous Mom-friends too.  Enjoy your day…or do like me, and make it a weekend!

4 comments

  1. Happy Mother’s Day to you,let me start by saying love the new hair do ,you are ready for summer.
    How very thoughtful of Courtney what a kind young lady.
    Fun gifts from the girls ,you were spoilt and and plenty of yummy treats

  2. Your dinner and gifts look wonderful and your hair is pretty. Happy Mother’s Day to you too! 🙂

  3. Looks like you had a great Mother’s Day weekend!! Your hair turned out really cute.

Leave a Reply

