Hugs To All!

Happy Memorial Day everyone!  I have to say thank you to my Dad and Father-in-law for their service to our country.  We have freedom because of men like these and we must always remember them and thank them frequently.

This has been a busy week for us once again and with school winding down, we’re getting excited for summer.  Let’s start out with school…Megan got elected to be a Senior Officer for the National Honor Society for next year.  This was quite a surprise to her, because she applied for the Volunteer Coordinator position.  ha~  Oh well, she’ll do great in this spot as well.  Way to go Megs!   Hug!  Kelly earned many certificates at the 9th grade awards ceremony on Thursday morning.  Awards were given out to the top 10% in each class.  Kelly received one for AP, Science, Language Arts, and Principal Award for keeping a 3.6 or better GPA all year.  She’s actually kept this since 7th grade.  Very proud of her accomplishments!  Hugs!

Kelly, Greg & Emily earning as much as possible.

Kelly, Greg & Emily earning as much as possible.

The week has ended and on Friday night we kicked off the holiday weekend by grilling out and later having friends over for a bonfire.   Nate was craving some salmon and I was all for that.  He put a maple and mustard glaze over them,  put them on a cedar plank and let the grill do the rest.  They turned out perfect!

From this...to that!

From this…to that!

We weren’t ready for out night to be over so we called up the Smith’s and they joined us for a bonfire.  I think everyone had the same plan.  Our neighborhood smelled so good and you could hear people outdoors all evening.  Always fun to get that first bonfire going!

Our Burnsville Blaze~

Our Burnsville Blaze~

Sheri reminded me of my wine holders.  A gift from my sister, Terry.  They worked great!

Sheri reminded me of my wine holders. A gift from my sister, Terry. They worked great!

Saturday was our motivation day.  The girls and I went out to my brother’s and bought plants for my planters, while Nate dug out a new garden out back.  He is trying to get our yard in better shape for Megan’s  graduation party next June.  I also bought a new gadget to put in his garden…a gazing ball.  We had a bird bath with no top, so I thought maybe we’d recycle it by adding this gazing ball on top.  We all like it very much and it adds a pop of color out there.

My view from the kitchen window~ nice.

My view from the kitchen window~ nice.

My newest find.  So pretty when the sun hits it.

My newest find. So pretty when the sun hits it.

The newest addition.  Looks like a flip-flop to me.   Ha~

The newest addition. Looks like a flip-flop to me. Ha~

The girls and I went to Sailer’s Greenhouse on a very busy day so we didn’t get to spend much time chatting with Mark & Peggy.  I was on a mission to find flowers for the deck and get a few herbs as well.  We chose thyme, basil and rosemary.  Megs & Kelly were very helpful and we found everything on my list.  I need two more planters for the front step, so we’ll be running back this week.  Just didn’t have enough room in the car.

Love the neon orange~

Love the neon orange~

Love my watering can planters.

Love my watering can planters.

Sunday came and it was rain, rain and more rain.  It didn’t bother us though, because it was that gentle rain that was so soothing and calming and it felt nice after a busy day on Saturday and all the plants and gardens were being nicely watered this way.   It was a nice night to stay in and enjoy a glass of wine from the wonderful Coppola family wineries.

Red wine & rainy days go together.

Red wine & rainy days go together.

Today is Memorial Day and we expected more rain, but it has turned out to be a wonderful day for families to visit cemeteries, enjoy family barbecues, and remember those who have served our country.  We didn’t have any family get-together’s but the girls thought about their grandfather’s and the meaning of Memorial Day.  We watched a show last night on PBS about soldiers of war and it was very touching.  I said to Nate, “This is so depressing” and he responded, “Yeah, but so important to watch and understand that this all happened.”  So true~we all agreed.   So hugs go out to Dad and Cardell today.  We love you both.

IMG_6769

Happy Memorial Day Everyone~

3 comments

  1. Want to start by saying Thankyou to your dad sailer and dad Solberg for serving so we can be in this amazing nation.we too watched the pbs special very moving.
    Thankyou for sharing the bonfire , perfect start to the weekend,your plants look pretty
    Congratulations to your beautiful smart girls.

  2. Thank You, Cathy. Many servicepeople gave their lives. I was fortunate to offer time and a bit of service. I appreciate your words ( and the hugs!)..And Kelly..Princess Kelly appears to have earned a fistful of awards! Congrats, Kell!!

Leave a Reply

