Lets Get This Summer Started!

It all came to an end last week.  School is out, which makes Megan officially a Senior next school year.  Nate & I can’t believe that its really happening.  Still in denial that time has gone this fast, but she is ready, so I guess we have to be as well.  A tradition at Burnsville High School, is for the girls to wear their “senior outfits” on the last day of 11th grade.  Kind of a cute idea and of course, just another reason for them (and parents) to take more pictures.

I’m ready!

I’m ready!

Her graduating year..2016

Her graduating year..2016

Kelly had her annual “end-of-the-year” bonfire at our house on the last day of school.  She and 13 of her friends spent the evening outside in our backyard having tons of fun, laughing, eating and getting their summer break started.  I love hearing them out there enjoying themselves.  Laughter is so contagious.

Had to take this from Megan’s room.  Only way to get them all in there.  ha~

Had to take this from Megan’s room. Only way to get them all in there. ha~

Love this group!

Love this group!

Before the outside party started, we served walking tacos and some fruit.  The bonfire consisted of s’mores, of course.

The taco bar~

The taco bar~

My tray came back empty.

My tray came back empty.

My last day of school wasn’t all that eventful, but it’s still the last day and I’m ready for the break…mentally & physically.  A couple parents gave us some nice treats and thanked us for a wonderful school year.  We said good-bye to our two 6th graders and we will greet two new kindergarteners in the fall.

A great team to work with!

A great team to work with!

Sweet treats~

Sweet treats~

Last night Nate decided to try out his new pizza pan for the grill.  He cut up veggies, sautéed chicken, put on a sauce, and made his own dough.  Then it was time to fire up the grill.  About 10 minutes later…down came the rain!  We thought we’d let it pass then start grilling.  Well, it slowed down, then started right back up with hail this time.  Let’s just say, he wasn’t too thrilled to grill anymore, but wasn’t about to let the weather win.   I helped him out with the umbrella, but sadly, the crust did get burned because he wasn’t able to watch it like he had planned and it was on the grill a bit too long.  We could still eat it, but he was disappointed.  We hope he will give it another go sometime.

This must be England!

This must be England!

Our June calendar is already completely full and when I look at it, I just say…”ugh”.  Kelly has started Driver’s Ed classes this week, Megan has started work and has soccer practices or games nearly every night.  Kelly also begins practicing for the musical Guys & Dolls, so she and I will be driving to Hastings on many nights this summer.  I will be doing lots of reading on those nights, which will be nice and relaxing.  Nate has started his golf league on Tuesday nights and wants to do some fishing.   This week consists of Dr. appts, haircuts, dentist appt., voice lessons, chiropractor and attending a grad party…so yeah, we’re on break….sort of.   Hoping July will be a little slower and quieter.

For now…I will enjoy each minute that I get to put my feet up and take in the fresh, summer air.

Jazzy & I think alike~

Jazzy & I think alike~

3 comments

  1. Yea!!!!! Summer!!!!! I hope your July calms down too. Wow! You are busy! We still need to go out for your birthday. 🙂

  2. Yes, you are sooooo busy! Time does just fly these days. I am going to my nieces son’s graduation party next week, now that makes me feel really old!!

Leave a Reply

