Yep, I’m Fifty!

note the wine label~

note the wine label~

Oh my….where do I even begin this blog.  Well, I think I have to go back a week when this party just got started…

I decided to host my own birthday party, rather than take a trip to New York, which was my first plan.  I just wanted to be surrounded by family and friends for this monstrous birthday (yeah, I said monstrous).  Nate got busy working on our backyard and knows that I love eating outdoors and those beautiful white lights all around me.  Guess what…he found a DIY website and made these supports on our deck to hang bulbs.  They are absolutely gorgeous and at night when these are lit up, our deck feels like a whole new room!  So pretty out there amongst our flowers as well.  I love it!!   Super cool and we light up the neighborhood now!

mood lighting~

mood lighting~

The next night (Friday), my sister Peggy came to stay with us.  We drove down to Hastings to drop Kelly off at rehearsal and met up with an old school friend of Peggy’s.  After our visit, we headed back to Burnsville and went to Dan Patch Days, which is our local “fest” here in town.  We picked up my friend Becky and headed to see a band called “Hairball.”  They play all 80’s music and dress up like the lead singers.  They were such fun and did a great job with the music.  Ah, the memories~

Beer in a can...more 80’s stuff for us.

Beer in a can…more 80’s stuff for us.

The next morning it was time to get the food prepared and ready for the party.  Nate grilled & shredded the meat a couple of weeks ago, so my job was to throw it into the crock pot to warm it up….easy!   He made stuffed jalapeño poppers to go along with dinner.  Oh my, think he said he counted about 80 of them when he finally finished.  His hand was sore from stuffing them!  Most got eaten and we enjoyed a few the next day, which we were happy about.  They are delicious~     He also made fresh guacamole and pico de gallo.   Sadly, there were no leftovers, but I guess that is a good thing.  We had many requests for more guacamole throughout the night and I had to tell them, it was gone.

The full menu~ Kelly is the writer behind this.

The full menu~ Kelly is the writer behind this.

stuffed w/bacon, cheddar, green onion & garlic.

stuffed w/bacon, cheddar, green onion & garlic.

Festive appetizers!

Festive appetizers!  They went well with my succulents.

During the day, we had to take a few pictures while Aunt Peggy was in town and do a little decorating.   That was fun and now I need to go buy a couple of frames so the girls can have this nice picture we took.

Love this picture!

Love this picture!

The whole neighborhood knew about my b-day.

The whole neighborhood knew about my b-day.

Greg was the first to arrive and since the party was on his actual birthday, we allowed him to come early and get started.  He thought he was being funny when he handed me this gift.

Bonfire starter for sure!  Thanks Greg~

Bonfire starter for sure! Thanks Greg~

Jim and Sandra offered to buy my birthday cake as their gift.  What a nice offer and it was a gorgeous cake.  I got to choose my flavor, so I picked a Lemon Cream.  Oh my, this was heaven!  Great job you two, it got rave reviews!  They were also kind enough to get Greg a cake as well.  He chose German Chocolate.  So we had a nice mix.

Greg left early, so we messed with his cake.

Greg left early, so we messed with his cake.

Things I love..scrapbooking, wine & cheese.  Cute idea~

Things I love..scrapbooking, wine & cheese. Cute idea~

I left one lit....for Nate :)

I left one lit….for Nate 🙂

Happiness to a 3 year old...having cake w/your girlfriend.

Happiness to a 3 year old…having cake w/your girlfriend.

I got some wonderful gifts (even tho I said no gifts please), but the most fun was hanging out all night with people I love.  It was so much fun and at times, just plain overwhelming…but in a good way!

Cristina, Jim & Sandra

Cristina, Jim & Sandra just chilling~

Kevin, Dan & Nate...the guys~

Kevin, Dan & Nate…the guys~

Jacob drove back from ND to be here...sweet~

Jacob drove back from ND to be here…sweet~

Sisters!!!  Can you guess who’s the oldest? I can’t~

Sisters!!! Can you guess who’s the oldest? I can’t~

Peggy, Dan, Sheri, Kevin & Dawn.  Love this group!

Peggy, Dan, Sheri, Kevin & Dawn. Love this group!

Lindsey & family drove from to Duluth.  Thanks!

Lindsey & family drove from Duluth. Thanks!

Anthony is always fun to have at a party.

Anthony is always fun to have at a party.

Had to make sure Tom & Sue were present.

Had to make sure Tom & Sue were present.

Nice to have Kelly’s BF Emily, hang out with us.  She loves Mexican food~

Nice to have Kelly’s BF Emily, hang out with us. She loves Mexican food~

After the food portion of the night was over, we started up a bonfire and relaxed around the calming flames, told stories and laughed all night.  I loved looking around at all my family and friends conversing with one another and enjoying themselves.  Whether your an old friend or a new friend, it didn’t matter, we all melded as one group.  I love that about everyone.

I sure was tired by the end of the night…as a 50 year old should, I guess.  My head hit the pillow and it was lights out.  Sunday was a quiet, non-productive day, just like we all wanted.  Finished cleaning up then laid around all day, then took my sister to the airport.  Hated to see her leave, but was so happy that she could be here to celebrate with us all.  She was a huge help before and after the party!

Goodbye Peg!  We will miss you~ :(

Goodbye Peg! We will miss you~ 😦

Monday we took a drive to Winona, MN for a tour of their campus.  Megan is still considering a nursing degree and they have a wonderful, accredited program down there.  It’s a two hour drive, so not that far away and a pretty drive as well, especially when you start to get near Winona.  We were very impressed with this school and Megan said she could picture herself here.  That is a good sign, but we still have one more college to visit before she makes any commitments.

Megs loved this science bldg...where she’d spend most of her time.

Megs loved this science bldg…where she’d spend most of her time.

pretty gardens & fountains

pretty gardens & fountains

I bet it’s a gorgeous campus in the fall.  We will have to come back & check.

I bet it’s a gorgeous campus in the fall. We will have to come back & check.

We liked the old look on the outside, but newness on the inside.

We liked the old look on the outside, but newness on the inside.

Time to head back home and do a birthday dinner…yep, it’s still not even June 30th but I’m milking it all the way!  Actually, we normally go out for birthday dinners on the day of your birthday, but Nate has a golf game, Megan has a soccer game, and Kelly has rehearsal on Tuesday, so I opted for Monday night.  Everyone was good with that and after a full day down in Winona, Porter Creek sounded fantastic and no one had to cook.  I ordered a steak and a glass of wine.  One of my favorite dinners…call it “comfort food.”     We also celebrated and toasted the girls for their hard work and fabulous grades, once again this year.  We always like to acknowledge them and make sure they know how proud we are of them both.  Yay, Megan and Kelly!

I got a free-bee! Apple-Cranberry Bread Pudding...on the house!

I got a free-bie! Apple-Cranberry Bread Pudding…on the house!

So we finally get to June 30th….as I said, my family is busy tonight but before they all left me, they did have a few gifts out on the table when I returned from grocery shopping (sad, I know…I went grocery shopping on my b-day).  They always surprise me with such fun gift ideas and this year again, I had some good ones.  I have to start with Kelly’s gift.  She made me a snow-globe!  Yep, another DIY project.  She knows I love giraffes and made this cute water globe.  I’ll be shaking it all the time.  Its fun!

It’s adorable!

Adorable!

Megan bought me some work-out tops (mainly for walking around the pond), cause I don’t really work out, but they were much needed in this hot weather.  Nate found these really fun cookie cutters that he knew I could use for many occasions.  He says my girlfriends will love them.  Now I have to learn how to pipe frosting better and get a little more creative with my cookies!

Cooler tops that breathe! yes please~

Cooler tops that breathe! yes please~

HalloWine cookies?

HalloWine cookies?

Nate also found these really neat meat & cheese boards for entertaining and to go along with that…he used my idea that I did on his 50th.  A $50 bottle of wine!  I will have to find a special recipe to go along with this Shiraz.

Glad he stole my idea...

Glad he stole my idea…

Now I come to the conclusion of my birthday…thus far.  I am meeting a few co-workers for a birthday lunch on Thursday, so the week continues.  As I sit here in Caribou and watch the sunset, I am just smiling at all the things I just wrote.  What a great birthday I had.  Yep, I’m 50 and that’s just fine with me.  Let the next decade begin!

He still thinks I’m hot!

He still thinks I’m hot!

4 comments

  1. Cathy what a wonderful blog,I loved the photo of Peggy and the girls priceless and precious.Your party was extremely enjoyable and the lights very festive ,way to go Nate! What a sweet gift from Kelly how cute, along with all your other treats.
    I think your birthday should continue for at least another week,everyone wants to celebrate with you.
    Lots if fun memories.

  2. Your birthday party was so fun! Sounds like you had a good birthday week.
    You deserve it! 🙂

  3. Like I said in your card, Hon, you make 50 look easy! Everyone seemed to enjoy your party, but it’s because they made the party fun. (See: Panda, Kung Fu; Secret Ingredient Soup) Let’s rest and recover and then do it all again; happy birthday!

Leave a Reply

