A Hat Trick Weekend~

For those of you who aren’t familiar with the hockey term…”hat trick”, this is when someone gets three goals in one game, then everyone throws their hats onto the ice.  In my blog terminology…it means, my three days of events that have just happened.  Lets start with Friday, shall we.

Girls at work~

Girls at work~

My friend Jean found a Groupon about three months ago that involved making our own copper jewelry.  She asked Sheri & I if we’d do this with her.  Sheri was all over it and I said, “hmm, not really my thing.”  Well, after a some harassment from them both, I agreed and bought the Groupon.  We scheduled our ‘girls day out’ this past Friday afternoon and had some fun.  The place is called, “smARTy DIY art.  Kind of a cute name, but the gals running this operation, were not really on top of their game. It was a mother/daughter team and they were very chatty, but not helpful in the least.  We started off by getting handed a small blow-torch that they didn’t seem to even know how to use.  With not much demonstration, we began torching our copper while being quite scared not to burn the place down….and laughing all the while holding this flame.  We were so confused.

Le me at it!

Le me at it!

Jean’s face tells it all.

Jean’s face tells it all.

This was very cool to do.  The heat changes the color of the copper.

This was very cool to do. The heat changes the color of the copper.

Okay, it was time to put the flames to rest and add embellishments to our copper necklaces & earrings.  There was a table full of beads, charms, and anything else you wanted to glue on.  This took forever to choose, because again…no help was given and nothing to look at for ideas.  I’m not artsy, so I felt lost at this table.  haha~

Jean & Sheri seemed to know what they wanted.

Jean & Sheri seemed to know what they wanted.

I finally chose a few items and went simple.  Found a giraffe and some leaves and put them together.  Saw a cross and a heart and thought Kelly would like that, then the last one ( I had leftover copper) I found silverware and went for a cooking theme.  I have very limited creativity for things like this.

Sheri’s necklace turned out great.

Sheri’s necklace turned out great.

Finished products.

Finished products.

In the end, the class was worthless, but we sure enjoyed ourselves.  It definitely wasn’t about the product this time, but more the process and having a good time with my friends.  Live and learn!

Someday we may actually wear them!  ha~

Someday we may actually wear them! ha~

The second event in my “hat trick” weekend, was going to the Extreme Race Day out at Canterbury Downs Racetrack in Shakopee.    This was Sheri’s gig that she’s been wanting to do.  She told me about it and I couldn’t wait to go.  We gathered our families for this one and headed out on a scorching hot Saturday afternoon.   The extreme races were mixed in amongst the horse races.  The “extreme” part was camel races and zebra races.   They were suppose to have ostrich races as well, but with the bird flu, it couldn’t happen this year.   I’m okay with that.

The Smith’s were on fire with their bets.  Poor Peggy, wasn’t so lucky.

The Smith’s were on fire with their bets. Poor Peggy, wasn’t so lucky.

Peggy, Nate & Sheri took this betting seriously.

Peggy, Nate & Sheri took this betting seriously.

Kelly brought along her friend Allie and Megan & Jacob also joined us.  They are too young to place bets, but they picked a horse each race to win and Jacob should’ve had us place his bets.  He would’ve made some good money that day.

These two really enjoyed the day out at the racetrack.

These two really enjoyed the day out at the racetrack.

Remember girls...gambling is addicting.

Remember girls…gambling is addicting.

Nate won a race and lost a race, then it was on to the camels and zebras.  You couldn’t bet on these, the announcer kept saying, “side bets are welcome”.  For the camel race, I picked the one named…Donald Hump.  They had very funny names. He actually won the race, but that wasn’t even the best part.  Just watching the jockeys trying to get up on these animals was funny.  They aren’t as graceful as the horses and not sure they care to have someone up on top of them.  There were only four camels and they ran about 100 yards.  It was quick and super funny.  Only one ran forward, the other three took off sideways and any way they could just to get it done.

Got them on the track at least.  ha~

Got them on the track at least. ha~

Your winner...Donald Hump

Your winner…Donald Hump

The zebras were even funnier.  They for sure hated having a jockey on their backs.  Again, there were four of them and one was a zebra/donkey mix.  He was called a zonkie.  It took a long time to get these animals into the starting gate and then they all came out like bucking broncos.  I didn’t know zebra’s could buck like that.  Right away, three jockey’s fell off and only one made it to the end.  This can not be an easy task.    It was so entertaining for us tho.

Go zebras go!

Go zebras go!

What a fun afternoon we had.  We had to keep going inside to cool off in-between races, but that’s what summer fun is all about here in Minnesota.

Nate & I before we melted.

Nate & I before we melted.

Girls at the racetrack~

Girls at the racetrack~

My last event of the hat trick was today.  Kelly has been rehearsing nearly every day in Hasting for the Guys & Dolls musical.  As part of the Black Dirt Theater Company, the actors needed to either walk in the parade or work at the booth for Rivertown Days. She chose the booth, so Jean, Sheri and I hung out and watched some of the festivities that went along with Rivertown Days.

Keeping Kelly busy~

Keeping Kelly busy~

We wanted Kelly to dance, but she just looked at us. We moved on...

We wanted Kelly to dance, but she just looked at us. We moved on…

Down the path, we found our entertainment for the day.  Dock jumping!  What is this you ask?  Well, I had to google it myself to get the correct name.  Dogs jumping into water just didn’t seem technical enough.  This is a dog sport in which dogs compete in jumping for distance or height from a dock into a body of water.  Oh such fun!

This dog flew!

This dog flew!

This girl dog had a cute pink swimsuit on.

This girl dog had a cute pink swimsuit on.

We could’ve stayed here all day!  These dogs loved it and some were shaking so much because they couldn’t wait to take the leap.  So cute~  One dog wouldn’t get out of the pool after his jump.  Well why not, it was 85 degrees out and he’s full of fur!  Who could blame him.  haha

A proud doggie~

A proud doggie~

Drying off in the sunshine after a big leap.

Drying off in the sunshine after a big leap.

The rest of our afternoon was spent walking along the main street in Hastings, catching a little of the parade as we walked, shopping in the little boutiques, and hanging out on a picnic bench just enjoying each other’s company and having girl talk.  It was a lot of fun and a nice way to end my hat trick.  Thank you both for hanging out with me this weekend.

I throw my hats off to these two!

I throw my hats off to these two!

3 comments

  1. I love your hat trick weekend especially as I was apart of it,so many magic moments,like a hockey game a little frustration,lots of cheering and of course celebrations.

  2. Oh my gosh fun! I so wish I could join you girls. What a super fun weekend. I think your necklaces look very pretty.

Leave a Reply

