Prepping For Fall

This Mum was the size of a tree!

This Mum was the size of a tree!

It’s the end of September and that means we all start thinking about fall.  The leaves are still green and my summer plants are even doing well, so I couldn’t throw them out just yet.  I wanted my Mums up front, so I did toss out my geraniums so that I’d have room.   Today’s weather felt more like August and it was wonderful to spend a couple of hours out at the Greenhouse.

Kelly is now working as a PCA (Personal Care Assistant) for Emily, a girl in our neighborhood.  They are good friends of ours and were in need of someone to replace Ashley (Andra’s sister) because she is off at college and then getting married next August.  They asked Kelly if she was interested and she said yes.  Kelly loves this job and Emily is a sweet young lady and a lot of fun to be around.

They both wore football T-shirts today.

They both wore football T-shirts today.

We spent two hours on our little “fieldtrip” today.  I could’ve stayed out there all day.  This was Emily’s first time at the greenhouse, so Kelly took her for a nice long tour and made sure she saw it all.  I wandered out near the fire pit area and chatted with Peggy, my sister-in-law while she watered plants.  We needed to get caught up on all the family members.

Could sit here all day & night.

My happy place!  Could sit here all day & night.

Lots to choose from~

Lots to choose from~

The girls met up with me in one of the greenhouses and we needed to choose some mums…but which color?  There are so many varieties now, that it isn’t always that easy.  Emily picked out a yellow one for her mom.  This surprised us, because her favorite color is pink and on the way over, she was sure she’d get a pink one.  See what happens when there are so many!

Favorite time of the year for me.

Favorite time of the year for me.

I went with a maroon color this year.  I went to choose one and I couldn’t believe how big these plants were.  Kelly and Emily were laughing at me when I tried to pick it up and the whole thing was practically in my face!  Wow, love these Mums this year.  They look fabulous out front in our urns.

My monster mum!

My monster mum!

Emily wanted to pull the wagon~

Emily wanted to pull the wagon~

After we picked out our mums, Mark suggested we head out to the back area where the pumpkin patch is.  He told Emily she could pick one to take home.  That sounded fun, so we hiked out back and into the fields and went exploring.  As we were on the trail, we heard a loud noise coming up behind us.  We turned around and saw Mark driving up with the big red tractor.  We all started giggling and got out of the way.  He had planned this so he could get Emily up on the tractor.  She didn’t hesitate when he asked her if she’d like to climb on.  Kelly jumped on as well and I had three smiling people ready for my favorite picture of the day.  Thank you Uncle Mark!  You made our day.

Mark’s baby~

Mark’s baby~

So off we went into the patch (not my favorite thing), but I had to be brave and follow the girls.  A toad or something quick, jumped right in front of me and Emily and yes, I let out a little scream.  Mark says I’m pathetic, but I’m just not a nature girl.  Meanwhile Kelly and Emily were doing much better than me and they found the perfect pumpkin.  The only problem was, how to get it off the vine.  The stems were huge!  Once again, Mark to the rescue.  He walked over with these enormous cutters and chopped that stem right off.

Kelly pretending to be tough~

Kelly pretending to be tough~

Its work to pick a pumpkin~

Its work to pick a pumpkin~

Of course, these two picked a pumpkin that was a little too heavy to carry around, so Mark put it on the four-wheeler (that just happened to be near us) and told Kelly to take it on back to the greenhouse.  She was thrilled!  She and Megan have driven these many times out there, and her eyes lit up when she got these instructions.  A favorite activity for my girls.   Emily and I walked back while Kelly had a little fun on her own.

All this for one pumpkin?

All this for one pumpkin?

We met Kelly back at the front and since it was pretty hot out, we thought it might be a good time to go into the store area, cool off a bit and look at the Halloween displays, gourds, squash, and anything else we find fun to look at.

IMG_7963

We wanted Emily to take home a squash, but she wasn’t having any of that.

We wanted Emily to take home a squash, but she wasn’t having any of that.

Before we left, we had to take a look at the pumpkins that were already picked and on display.  Like the mums, these too were extremely large.  Mark said its going to be a great year for pumpkins and he’s not selling by weight because they are all so heavy.  He just looks at them and says either $5 or $6.  Nice~

Love the oranges of autumn.

Love the oranges of autumn.

My favorite pumpkins of the day~

My favorite pumpkins of the day~

I have to say, this was such a wonderful day and I had a great time we these two girls.  They made me laugh all day and we just enjoyed ourselves.  Thanks again Mark & Peggy for your hospitality.  We’ll be back for more pumpkins as we near Halloween!

Friends~

Friends~

Back home showing off her pumpkin and the mum she picked for her mom.

Back home showing off her pumpkin and the mum she picked for her mom.

2 comments

  1. Love! Love! Love! My favorite time of year for pictures. Love all your colors and the adventure of the day. What a perfect day!

  2. The colors are amazing ,and how enjoyable for all of you to spend time there.Mark is a Rockstar I bet that made Emilys day,it would of made mine.The smiles on the girls faces says it all.What a great experince to share .

Leave a Reply

